Dublin: 4°C Sunday 29 May 2022

Who was your All-Ireland SFC final man-of-the-match?

Dean Rock grabs the headlines, but which other players stood out at Croke Park?

MAYO’S 66-YEAR WAIT for an All-Ireland senior football championship title goes on, as Dublin continue their dominance by lifting the Sam Maguire for a third successive year at Croke Park this afternoon.

Dean Rock kicks the winning point Dean Rock lands the matchwinning free. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

After a breathless and gripping contest, it came down to one kick of the ball as Dean Rock held his nerve to send a 76th minute free between the posts and inflict more heartache on Mayo.

Rock proved to be the matchwinner but there were so many standout performances as both sides produced another epic in front of a full house at HQ.

Paul Mannion scored three points for Jim Gavin’s side while Chris Barrett, Lee Keegan and Cillian O’Connor were all outstanding for Mayo.


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

The winner of the man of the match award will be announced on The Sunday Game this evening, but before then vote for your choice below — and let us know why in the comments section.

Poll Results:

Chris Barrett (2619)
James McCarthy (1517)
Dean Rock (921)
Other (428)
Lee Keegan (386)
Paul Mannion (224)
Cillian O'Connor (180)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

‘They’re all very difficult to take, too many of them now at this stage’

‘I struck it well and the rest is history now’: Rock holds his nerve to deliver for Dublin

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel