Cathal Noonan/INPHO
# Gongs
Philly McMahon has been shortlisted for the footballer of the year award
Dublin lead the way in the Allstar nominations.

THE GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year will be a Dublin man this season.

Philly McMahon, Bernard Brogan and Jack McCaffrey have all been shortlisted for the individual award.

Diarmuid O’Connor, Ryan McHugh and Ryan Wylie make up the list of contenders for the young player prize.

The All-Ireland champions, as ever, dominate the Allstar nominations with 11 names on the list. Kerry — beaten in the final by Jim Gavin’s side — have eight while the two beaten semi-finalists, Tyrone and Mayo, have seven each.

2015 GAA GPA All-Star Football Nominations Sponsored by Opel

Goalkeepers: Paul Durcan (Donegal), Brendan Kealy (Kerry), Rory Beggan (Monaghan).

Defenders: Frank McGlynn (Donegal), Ryan McHugh (Donegal), James McCarthy (Dublin), Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin), Rory O’Carroll (Dublin), Jonny Cooper (Dublin), Jack McCaffrey (Dublin), Philip McMahon (Dublin), Shane Enright (Kerry), Jonathan Lyne (Kerry), Keith Higgins (Mayo), Lee Keegan (Mayo), Chris Barrett (Mayo), Vinny Corey (Monaghan), Karl O’Connell (Monaghan), Cathal McCarron (Tyrone), Ronan McNamee (Tyrone), Ronan McNabb (Tyrone).

Midfielders: Neil Gallagher (Donegal), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Anthony Maher (Kerry), David Moran (Kerry), Tom Parsons (Mayo), Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone).

Forwards: Michael Murphy (Donegal), Paddy Andrews (Dublin), Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin), Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin), Seán Quigley (Fermanagh), Donnchadh Walsh (Kerry), Paul Geaney (Kerry), James O’Donoghue (Kerry), Donie Kingston (Laois), Cillian O’Connor (Mayo), Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo), Aidan O’Shea (Mayo), Conor McManus (Monaghan) Peter Harte (Tyrone), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone), Kieran Martin (Westmeath).

Player of the Year Nominations

Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Jack McCaffrey (Dublin), Philip McMahon (Dublin).

Young Player of the Year Nominations

Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo), Ryan Wylie (Monaghan).

5 key considerations for a divided Mayo

Former Wexford hurling captain brings the curtain down on 14-year career

Your Voice
Readers Comments