This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 20 °C Saturday 30 May, 2020

Limerick's Ardscoil Rís strike three goals as they book All-Ireland hurling semi-final spot

Ardscoil Rís now play Presentation Athenry in the semi-final.

Niall Moran is the Ardscoil Rís coach.
Niall Moran is the Ardscoil Rís coach.
Image: Cathal Noonan

Ardscoil Rís 3-15
Kilkenny CBS 1-13

Jackie Cahill reports from Templemore

A TWO-GOAL blast in the space of three second half minutes paved the way for Harty Cup winners Ardscoil Rís to see off the challenge of Kilkenny CBS and advance to the Croke Cup semi-finals this afternoon.

Ardscoil, four-time Harty Cup winners in the past seven seasons, are targeting a very first All-Ireland crown and their next step is a last four clash with Connacht champions Presentation College Athenry on Saturday.

Niall Moran is the Ardscoil Rís coach. Source: Cathal Noonan

Ardscoil had to work for this one against Leinster runners-up Kilkenny CBS, who cut what was a six-point first half deficit back to a single point, 1-8 to 1-9, in the second half.

But disaster struck for CBS when they conceded goals in the 40th and 42nd minutes as Ardscoil found the cushion they needed to kick for home.

Conor Boylan found the net first before Paraic O’Loughlin scored his second goal two minutes later, after CBS goalkeeper Liam Dunphy had batted away Brian Ryan’s initial effort.

Now 3-9 to 1-9 clear, it was plain sailing from there until the finish for Ardscoil, who twice led by nine points towards the finish before winning by eight.

Ardscoil led by five points at half-time, 1-9 to 0-7, with Peter Casey warming up nicely for his All-Ireland senior club final appearance with Na Piarsaigh.

The 2015 All-Ireland U21 medallist with Limerick struck four brilliant points in the first half and Ardscoil had the ideal start when they scored a fortuitous goal in the very first minute.

Peter Casey Na Piarsaigh player Peter Casey Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

O’Loughlin’s effort from the left touchline wasn’t dealt with by Dunphy and the green flag went up to signal the opening score of the game.

CBS scored their only goal in the first minute of the second half and this was another scruffy effort as Bill Sheehan scrambled the ball home from close range after Sean Bolger’s speculative effort caused havoc in the Ardscoil goalmouth.

Despite trailing at half-time, CBS could have been much closer but for nine first half wides.

Scorers for Ardscoil Rís: Paraic O’Loughlin 2-0, Peter Casey, Paul O’Brien (0-3f, 0-1 ’65) 0-5 each, Conor Boylan 1-1, Darragh Carroll, David Fitzgerald 0-2 each.

Scorers fro Kilkenny CBS: Sean Bolger 0-6 (0-2f, 0-1 ’65), Bill Sheehan 1-1, Niall Brassil 0-2, Shane Mahony, John McEvoy, Jordan Molloy & Ronan Buckley 0-1 each.

Ardscoil Rís

1. Eoghan Foley (Na Piarsaigh)

2. Sean Hogan (Adare)
3. Sean Phelan (Broadford)
4. Ronan Connolly (Adare)

5. Conor Houlihan (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Nathan Fox (Parteen)
7. Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)

8. John Flynn (Patrickswell)
9. Brian Ryan (South Liberties)

10. Darragh Carroll (Kilteely/Dromkeen)
11. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
12. Paraic O’Loughlin (Clonlara)

13. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Paul O’Brien (Mungret)
15. David Fitzgerald (Clonlara)

17. Jack Delahunty (Newport) for Connolly (40)
20. Jack McInerney (Cratloe) for O’Loughlin (50)
21. Joe Gleeson (Na Piarsaigh) for Flynn (52)
23. Darragh Cunningham (Cratloe) for Casey (55)
22. Ian Considine (Na Piarsaigh) for Ryan (55)

Kilkenny CBS

1. Liam Dunphy (Lisdowney)

2. Kieran Ryan (Dicksboro)
3. Conor Flynn (Graigue-Ballycallan)
4. Conor Fitzpatrick (Dicksboro)

5. Shane Mahony (O’Loughlin Gaels)
6. Marc Drennan (Barrow Rangers)
27. Conor Doheny (Dicksboro)

8. Chris Kavanagh (Dicksboro)
9. Niall Brassil (James Stephens)

10. Sean Bolger (O’Loughlin Gaels)
11. Jay Leahy (O’Loughin Gaels)
12. John McEvoy (James Stephens)

13. Bill Sheehan (Dicksboro)
14. Conor Heary (O’Loughlin Gaels)
20. Jordan Molloy (O’Loughlin Gaels)


15. Conor Drennan (Galmoy) for Heary (38)
22. Ronan Buckley (O’Loughlin Gaels) for Brassil (59)
21. Sean Boyd (Dicksboro) for McEvoy (59)
7. Des Dunne (Danesfort) for Flynn (60+3)

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)

Mayo and Leitrim players on the move to Dublin GAA clubs

7 players to watch in the Connacht U21 football championship

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: