Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Sunday 18 April 2021

Clarke in attack for Armagh as 4 debutants named while Cavan bring in two newcomers

Armagh play Down on Sunday while Cavan take on Monaghan tomorrow.

Armagh star Jamie Clarke.
Armagh star Jamie Clarke.
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Updated May 17th 2019, 2:13 PM

KIERAN MCGEENEY HAS handed debuts to four players for Sunday’s Ulster SFC clash against Down at Páirc Esler. 

Jarly Og Burns, Rian O’Neill, Ryan Kennedy and Aidan Nugent get the nod for their first championship starts, while Jamie Clarke makes his first championship appearance for his native county in almost two years. 

Clarke spent the majority of 2018 in New York and lined out with the Exiles in the Connacht SFC last summer.

His last championship appearance in the Armagh jersey was the All-Ireland quarter-final defeat to Tyrone in August 2017.

Burns, the son of former Orchard captain Jarlath, is a highly-rated midfielder who was one of four players to play Sigerson Cup football under Down boss Paddy Tally at St Mary’s University in Belfast.

Meanwhile Cavan boss Mickey Graham has brought in two newcomers for tomorrow’s Ulster quarter-final against Monaghan at 7pm in Kingspan Breffni. Wing-back Conor Rehill and midfielder Conor Brady are the debutants while there is a first start for full-forward Thomas Galligan.

Michael Graham Cavan football boss Mickey Graham. Source: Declan Roughan/INPHO


1. Blaine Hughes (Carrickcruppen)

2. Patrick Burns (Forkhill)
3. Aaron McKay (Dromintee)
4. Paul Hughes (Crossmaglen Rangers)

5. Ryan Kennedy (Ballymacnab)
6. Brendan Donaghy (Clonmore)
7. Aidan Forker (Maghery)

8. Charlie Vernon (Armagh Harps)
9. Jarly Óg Burns (Silvebridge Harps)

10. Aidan Nugent (Cullyhanna)
11. Ethan Rafferty (Grange)
12. Jemar Hall (Forkhill)

13. Rory Grugan (Ballymacnab)
14. Rian O’Neill (Crossmaglen Rangers)
15. Jamie Clarke (Crossmaglen Rangers)


1. Raymond Galligan (Lacken)

2. Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels)
3. Padraig Faulkner (Kingscourt)
4. Conor Moynagh (Drumgoon)

5. Gerard Smith (Lavey)
6. Killian Clarke (Shercock)
7. Conor Rehill (Crosserlough)

8. Conor Brady (Gowna)
9. Gearoid McKiernan (Swanlinbar)

10. Martin Reilly (Killygarry)
11. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)
12. Niall Murray (Cavan Gaels)

13. Oisin Kiernan (Castlerahan)
14. Thomas Galligan (Lacken)
15. Conor Madden (Gowna)

Gavan Casey, Murray Kinsella and Andy Dunne look at Ireland’s past in Super Rugby, the creative shift needed in Irish rugby and Peter O’Mahony tells us about his love of gardening..:

Source: The42 Rugby Weekly/SoundCloud

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel