This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Friday 3 July, 2020

Awards time: Irish soccer nominations announced

Three managers and three players will battle it out to scoop the Airtricity/Soccer Writers’ Association of Ireland Personality of the Year.

Derry's Eamon Zayed recently won the PFAI Player of the Year award.
Derry's Eamon Zayed recently won the PFAI Player of the Year award.
Image: ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

THE AIRTRICITY/SOCCER Writers’ Association of Ireland have announced the nominees for this year’s awards.

Three managers and three players will compete for Personality of the Year at the event on January 13, with recent PFAI Player of the Year Eamon Zayed among the candidates.

Former Cameroon international Joseph Ndo, who has signed a new contract with Sligo Rovers, and Shamrock Rovers European hero Pat Sullivan also make the list along with his soon-to-be departed manager Michael O’Neill, Bit O’Red boss Paul Cook and Tommy Dunne, who led Cork City to the First Division title.

The other award on the night is Goalkeeper of the Year, where Sligo’s Brendan Clarke, St Pat’s keeper Gary Rogers and Gerard Doherty of Derry City are all included on the three-man shortlist.

11 gifts to get the sports fan in your life… 10 of which we recommend

WATCH: Tom Brady got absolutely obliterated by a Broncos defender last night

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next: