This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Monday 21 October, 2019


30,512 Views 22 Comments

The All-Ireland club hurling final is here as Ballyhale Shamrocks and St Thomas go in search of the Tommy Moore Cup. Here’s how the teams are named to start:

Ballyhale Shamrocks

1. Dean Mason 

2. Darren Mullen
3. Joey Holden
4. Brian Butler

5. Evan Shefflin
6. Michael Fennelly (captain)
7. Patrick Mullen

8. Ronan Corcoran
9. Richie Reid

10. Brian Cody
11. TJ Reid
12. Adrian Mullen

13. Eoin Reid
14. Colin Fennelly
15. Eoin Cody

St Thomas’

1. Gerald Murray

2. Cian Mahoney
3. Cathal Burke
4. Sean Skehill

5. Donal Cooney
6. Shane Cooney
7. Fintan Burke

9. David Burke
8. James Regan

10. David Sherry
11. Darragh Burke
12. Bernard Burke 

13. Brendan Farrell
14. Conor Cooney
11. Eanna Burke

Michael Fennelly is warming up with Ballyhale Shamrocks and looks to have overcome a knee injury in the build-up to the game. 

It’s time for predictions. Who do you fancy to take this one?

One late change for St Thomas, with Damien McGlynn replacing Eanna Burke.


We’re underway!


Ballyhale 0-1 St Thomas 0-0

Colin Fennelly is fouled and TJ Reid slots over the free from close range. 


Ballyhale 0-3 St Thomas 0-0

Adrian Mullen and Reid fire over a score apiece. 


Ballyhale 0-3 St Thomas 0-1

St Thomas are off the mark after Darragh Burke’s free. 


Ballyhale 0-4 St Thomas 0-1

Eoin Cody responds immediately for Ballyhale.


GOAL! Colin Fennelly fires into the St Thomas net after five minutes. 


Ballyhale 0-4 St Thomas 0-2

Darragh Burke slots over a 65 from a tight angle.


Ballyhale 1-4 St Thomas 0-3

Bernard Burke with a score after a good move.


Conor Cooney is playing centre-forward for St Thomas. He’ll have quite the battle with Michael Fennelly today.


Yellow card for Darren Mullen, who checked the run of Damien McGlynn as he chased a ball into the square. Conor Cooney will take it…


Ballyhale 1-5 St Thomas 1-3

Adrian Mullen puts Ballyhale two in front.


Ballyhale 1-6 St Thomas 1-3

TJ Reid taps over a close-range free.


Ballyhale 1-6 St Thomas 1-4

Burke sends over a free from in front of the posts.


Ballyhale 1-6 St Thomas 1-5

McGlynn gets his point awarded after hawk-eye is consulted. Excellent response by the Galway champions to the Ballyhale goal.


Ballyhale 1-6 St Thomas 1-6

St Thomas are level after a brilliant strike by James Regan.



Ballyhale 1-7 St Thomas 1-6

A long ball into the area sees Colin Fennelly strike it over the bar with the goal at his mercy.

Flag 22Mins

GOAL! A brilliant deft touch from Colin Fennelly into the St Thomas net.


Ballyhale 2-7 St Thomas 1-7

Burke with another free for St Thomas.


Ballyhale 2-8 St Thomas 1-7

TJ Reid feeds Evan Shefflin for a good Ballyhale score.


Ballyhale 2-9 St Thomas 1-7

Reid adds a score from play. He’s starting to get into the game now. 


Ballyhale 2-10 St Thomas 1-8

Darragh Burke (free) and Brian Cody trade scores before the break.


Ballyhale 2-10 St Thomas 1-8 – HT


Ballyhale 2-10 St Thomas 1-9

Darragh Burke opens up the scoring in the half for St Thomas.


Ballyhale 2-11 St Thomas 1-9

Eoin Cody is set-up by Colin Fennelly for a score.


Ballyhale 2-12 St Thomas 1-9

Reid drills over a free.


Ballyhale 2-14 St Thomas 1-9

Reid sets up Ronan Mullen for a score and Brian Cody adds another.


Ballyhale 2-15 St Thomas 1-9

Fennelly takes his chance with his second point from play.


St Thomas sub: Mark Caulfield replaces the injured Fintan Burke.


Ballyhale sub: Eoin Reid is replaced by Mark Aylward.


Looks like a knee injury for Fintan Burke. Play has been stopped for the last few minutes as he receives treatment on the field. He returns to action at full-back with a heavily bandaged knee.


Ballyhale 2-16 St Thomas 1-9

Brian Cody adds another for Shamrocks. Darragh Burke is fouled as he races through on goals and Cooney’s 21m strike on goal is saved by Dean Mason.


Ballyhale 2-16 St Thomas 1-10

Good score from Brendan Farrell for St Thomas.


Ballyhale 2-17 St Thomas 1-10

Another from Adrian Mullen and Richie Reid.


Ballyhale 2-19 St Thomas 1-10

Colin Fennelly with the latest for Ballyhale and they are coasting to victory now.


Fintan Burke is eventually forced off with injury and he’s replaced by Mark Caulfield.


Ballyhale 2-21 St Thomas 1-10

Colin Fennelly intercepts a puck-out and slots over, before Mullen adds a brace.


Ballyhale 2-23 St Thomas 1-10

Ronan Corcoran fires over one from midfield. 


Ballyhale 2-23 St Thomas 1-11

Burke sends over a free for the Galway side. Croke Park is fairly quiet now with the result already decided.


Ballyhale 2-24 St Thomas 1-11

Aylward is fouled and Reid applies the finish from a free in front of the posts.


Ballyhale 2-25 St Thomas 1-11

Gerald Murray makes a good save from a Ballyhale goal chance but Reid adds a free.


Eight minutes of stoppage-time will be played.


Ballyhale 2-27 St Thomas 1-11

Reid and Aylward add a score apiece.


Ballyhale 2-28 St Thomas 2-11

Reid adds another after a nice dummy.


Ballyhale Shamrocks 2-28 St Thomas 2-11 – FT


It’s a record seventh All-Ireland club hurling title for Ballyhale Shamrocks and one that moves them three titles clear of Birr and Portumna roll of honour. They are the undisputed kings of club hurling.


So it’s an All-Ireland title for Henry Shefflin at the end of his first campaign as a manager. 

Colin Fennelly’s 2-4 deservedly claims man-of-the-match while Adrian Mullen was brilliant with 0-5 from play. 

Thanks for joining us.

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel