Friday 3 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
INPHO/James Crombie Ballymun's Davey Byrne celebrates with fan Darragh Joyce.
# Magnificent Mun
Ballymun set for All-Ireland final after triumph over Dr Crokes
Ted Furman’s first-half goal was a key score as the team managed by Paul Curran were victorious in Semple Stadium today.

Ballymun Kickhams 1-10
Dr Crokes 0-9

Ballymun Kickhams were celebrating in Semple Stadium today after qualifying for their first AIB All-Ireland Club SFC final with a four-point victory over Kerry champions Dr Crokes.

The Dublin club’s dream season continues after claiming county and Leinster titles before Christmas and they maintained their winning run when appearing in their first ever All-Ireland semi-final.

Despite being outsiders before the game, the side managed by former Dublin All-Ireland winner Paul Curran set up a final meeting with St Brigid’s on St Patrick’s Day.

When Ted Furman fired to the net in the 17th minute, Ballymun were propelled into a 1-2 to 0-2 lead and they managed to hold on from there against a highly-rated Dr Crokes side.

Ballymun Kickhams were in front by 1-4 to 0-4 at the interval before Dean Rock, who shot five points overall, and Jason Whelan stretched their advantage by raising white flags early in the second-half.

Trailing by five points, Dr Crokes received a further setback in the 38th minute when Chris Brady’s penalty effort was saved by goalkeeper Sean Currie after Daithí Casey had been fouled close to goal.

A point by Philly McMahon, who had a superb outing at midfield, extended Ballymun’s lead to six but then Dr Crokes mounted a major recovery entering the final quarter. Casey (2), Colm Cooper and Johnny Buckley all notched points and the deficit was down to two with ten minutes remaining.

Ballymun Kickhams were under severe pressure but their defence, where Sean George and man-of-the-match Alan Hubbard, excelled, held out and only shipped one point in the finale when Dr Crokes corner-back Fionn Fitzgerald split the posts.

Rock had registered a brace before the game and substitute Derek Byrne added the insurance score in injury-time to seal Ballymun Kickhams passage through to the final.

Scorers for Ballymun Kickhams: Dean Rock 0-05 (0-3f), Ted Furman 1-1, Philly McMahon, Davey Byrne, Derek Byrne, Jason Whelan 0-1 each.
Scorers for Dr Crokes: Daithi Casey 0-3 (0-1f), Colm Cooper 0-2, Fionn Fitzgerald, Chris Brady, Johnny Buckley, Jamie Doolan 0-1 each.

BALLYMUN KICKHAMS: Sean Currie; Eoin Dolan, Sean George, Enda Dolan; Alan Hubbard, Karl Connolly, James Burke; Philly McMahon, James McCarthy; Davey Byrne, Kevin Leahy, Jason Whelan; Conor Weir, Dean Rock, Ted Furman.

Subs: Elliott Reilly for Weir (46), Derek Byrne for Leahy (55), Shane Forde for Connolly (56), Andrew O’Brien for Furman (60+2).

DR CROKES: David Moloney; John Payne, Michael Moloney, Fionn Fitzgerald; Luke Quinn, Eoin Brosnan, Shane Myers; Ambrose O’Donovan, Johnny Buckley; Kieran O’Leary, Daithi Casey, Brian Looney; Chris Brady, Colm Cooper, Jamie Doolan.

Subs: Shane Doolan for O’Donovan (19), David O’Leary for Myers (43), Keith Ward for Quinn (44), Gavin O’Shea for Brady (56).

Referee: Marty Duffy (Sligo).

St Brigid’s are heading to Croker after dramatic win in Mullingar

Shane McGrath selected as new Tipperary captain

Your Voice
Readers Comments