Tuesday 31 January 2023 Dublin: 7°C
Bryan Keane/INPHO
# on they go
Ballymun power into Dublin final as goals from Rock and Whelan lead them past 14-man Kilmacud
They saw off Kilmacud Crokes by eight points at Parnell Park.

Ballymun Kickhams 2-15

Kilmacud Crokes 1-10

Emma Duffy reports from Parnell Park

BALLYMUN KICKHAMS BOOKED their place in the Dublin SFC final this evening with a dominant win over Kilmacud Crokes at Parnell Park.

In a repeat of the 2012 final — which Ballymun won — goals from Dean Rock and Jason Whelan sent them into the decider where they’ll face reigning champions St Vincent’s.

Paddy Small was influential once again at full forward, clocking 0-5 from play in front of a big crowd at Parnell.

The opening stages were cagey, with Ballymun dominating the scoreboard. Davy Byrne drew first blood, while Carl Kealy and James McCarthy chipped in in the moments that followed.

Kilmacud — who knocked out last year’s finalists Castleknock in the quarter-final — had no shortage of possession how and ever, cutting the Ballymun defence open at times but failing to capitalise fully on chances.

Callum Pearson and Shane Horan got on the scoresheet, but Dean Rock and Jason Whelan at the other end sprung to life to hit influential points.

Kilmacud were reduced to 14 with 19 minutes played, when Ross O’Carroll saw red for a challenge on James McCarthy. Both players were going for the ball along the line, O’Carroll clipped the 2017 Footballer of the Year nominee and was subsequently handed his marching orders.

Philly McMahon and Paul Mannion Bryan Keane / INPHO Philly McMahon and Paul Mannion face off. Bryan Keane / INPHO / INPHO

Things went from bad to worse for Kilmacud.

Whelan rattled the net with three minutes to go to the interval, topping off a well-worked team move following an interception around the middle. Eight points down, Kilmacud needed a score before the break and Pat Burke stepped up to the mark.

Paddy Small had the final say off the half, connecting beautifully with his left to leave the half-time score reading 1-8 to 0-3 in favour of Ballymun.

Mannion opened proceedings on the restart with a free-kick, before Philly McMahon responded at the opposite end. Kilmacud’s All-Ireland winner with Dublin stepped up for his side in the second half, hitting three inspiring scores but it wasn’t enough.

Small continued his impressive exploits, before Rock cooly slotted home his penalty and the Northsiders pushed on.

Burke featured on the scoresheet again at the other end, as Aidan Jones added two points from play.

Kilmacud grabbed a consolation goal as the clock ran down, full-forward Mark Vaughan slotting home, while Pearson was unlucky not to add a second but Evan Comerford knocked his effort over for a point.

Paul Mannion Bryan Keane / INPHO Paul Mannion in action. Bryan Keane / INPHO / INPHO

Despite those late threats, Ballymun were in good stead to see the fixture out at their ease.

Scorers for Ballymun Kickhams: Dean Rock (1-2, 1-0 pen), Paddy Small (0-5), Jason Whelan (1-2), Kevin Leahy (0-2), Davy Byrne, Philly McMahon, James McCarthy, and Carl Keeley (0-1 each).

Scorers for Kilmacud Crokes: Mark Vaughan (1-0), Paul Mannion (0-3, 2f), Callum Pearson, Aidan Jones and Pat Burke (0-2 each), Shane Horan (0-1).

Ballymun Kickhams

1. Evan Comerford

2. Philly McMahon
3. Eoin Dolan
4. Alan Hubbard

5. Carl Keeley
6. John Small
7. James Burke

8. Aaron Elliot
9. James McCarthy

10. Jason Whelan
11. Dean Rock
12. Kevin Leahy

13. Eoin O’Neill
14. Paddy Small
15. Davy Byrne


24. Colm Hutton for Davy Byrne (47)
22. Dillon Keating for Eoin O’Neill (52)
18. Karl Connelly for John Small (56)
19. Colin Moore for Kevin Leahy (60)
21. Conor Kavanagh for Paddy Small (61)

Kilmacud Crokes

1. David Nestor

5. Andrew McGowan
3. Cian O’Sullivan
4. Cillian O’Shea

18. Craig Dias
6. Ross O’Carroll
7. Ross McGowan

8. Conor Casey
9. Pat Duggan

25. Dan O’Brien
11. Paul Mannion
12. Shane Horan

13. Callum Pearson
14. Mark Vaughan
15. Pat Burke


27. Ryan Murphy for Dan O’Brien (HT)
21. Kevin Dyas for Shane Horan (HT)
22. Cian O’Connor for Pat Burke (34)
10. Shane Cunningham for Pat Duggan (41)
20. Aidan Jones for Kevin Dyas (46)
19. Ben Shovlin for Craig Dias (56).

Referee: Dave Feeney

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Irish trainer Aidan O’Brien one shy of Bobby Frankel’s record after dominating Dewhurst

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel