Give that man the job! Bray win second successive game under caretaker manager

Limerick’s woes continue as the Shannonsiders go bottom.

David Cassidy scored his fourth goal of the season.
David Cassidy scored his fourth goal of the season.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Bray Wanderers 4

Limerick 0

BRAY WANDERERS’ REVIVAL under caretaker manager Maciej Tarnogrodzki continued at pace on Saturday evening as the hosts emphatically dismantled Limerick at the Carlisle Grounds.

Bray lost all five of their opening SSE Airtricity League games but the departure of Alan Mathews has signalled an upturn in fortunes as the Seagulls followed-up last week’s win in Sligo with another three points here.

After a scoreless opening half, during which winless Limerick spurned one guilt-edged opportunity, the hosts were clinical after the restart and two goals in the space of four minutes settled the contest.

Firstly, Adam Hanlon applied the finish to a fine counter-attack and then on the hour mark, striker Emeka Onwubiko fired home to give Bray some breathing space.

It could have been a different story had Dean Clarke managed to keep his effort from six yards on target with the goal at his mercy in the first-half.

As it was, Bray were far more potent in the final third and wrapped up the victory as David Cassidy scored his fourth goal of the campaign before Graham Kelly added further gloss to the scoreline in the dying embers.

Limerick are still without a win from their opening seven games of the campaign with Martin Russell’s side slipping to the foot of the table below Galway.

BRAY WANDERERS: Stephen McGuinness, Michael Barker, Daniel O’Reilly, Hugh Douglas, Alan McNally, Graham Kelly, David Cassidy, Ryan McEvoy, Adam Hanlon, Jamie McGlynn, Gareth McDonagh.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

LIMERICK: Conor O’Donnell, Sean Harding, Robbie Williams, Aidan Price, Paul O’Conor, Ian Turner, Shane Duggan, Dean Clarke, Darragh Rainsford, Sean Russell, Paudie O’Connor.

Man-of-the-match: Emeka Onwubiko

Referee: Anthony Buttimer

Stalemate in Inchicore as Cork City keep their seventh consecutive clean sheet

Towell’s late winner earns Dundalk bragging rights in the Louth derby

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: