This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Monday 27 January, 2020


27,432 Views 3 Comments

Welcome to our coverage of tonight’s Mayo SFC final between Breaffy and Ballintubber. 

Breaffy are bidding for their first title at senior level after losing the 2013 and 2015 finals, while Ballintubber are seeking to be crowned champions for the fourth time in their history.

Ballintubber, who can count O’Connor brothers, Cillian and Diarmuid, and Alan Dillon among their ranks, are favourites to capture the Moclair Cup after beating four-in-a-row chasing Castlebar Mitchels in the semi-final replay after extra-time. 

Mayo players Aidan O’Shea, Seamus O’Shea and Robbie Hennelly all line-out for Breaffy, as does U20 star Matthew Ruane who will be part of James Horan’s plans in 2019.

We’re in for a good game at Elverys MacHale Park, which throws-in at 8pm. If you fancy streaming it, Mayo GAA TV are offering full coverage for €5.

We’ll have the teams for you shortly.

GAA President John Horan is in the house and is currently being introduced to the teams in front of a packed MacHale Park. Throw-in is a few minutes away.

The national anthem is over and the teams are lining up. Here we go!

No changes on either side as Michael Hall is left on the Breaffy bench.

PENALTY! Full-forward Aidan O’Shea is fouled in the first couple of minutes! Spot-kick to Breaffy.

Ballintubber 0-0 Breaffy 1-0

With the breeze behind them, Breaffy led by three. Aidan O’Shea is staying put at full-forward and they’ll look to keep targetting him with high ball inside. 

Ballintubber 0-1 Breaffy 1-0

Steven O’Malley settles Ballintubber with their first score of the night. 

It’s a cagey game so far with both teams dropping lots of bodies back behind the ball. 


Ballintubber 0-2 Breaffy 1-0

Cillian O’Connor swings over a close-range free.


Ballintubber 0-3 Breaffy 1-0

Cillian O’Connor slots over a lovely free from near the left touchline to bring Ballintubber level.


Ballintubber 0-3 Breaffy 1-1

Gareth Dunne with an excellent score from a tight angle to give Breaffy the lead once again. 


Ballintubber 0-4 Breaffy 1-1

Damien Coleman gets forward for a nice score from wing-back.


Ballintubber 0-5 Breaffy 1-1

Cillian O’Connor kicks over another close-range free as Ballintubber take the lead for the first time tonight.


Ballintubber 0-6 Breaffy 1-1

Another booming free from O’Connor. It’s been a while since Breaffy troubled the scoreboard. 


Ballintubber 0-6 Breaffy 1-1

Hennelly comes up for a free from about 50m and kicks it wide. Moments later he sends a 45 wide. He’s 0/3 from placed balls so far but has enjoyed a very impressive campaign from frees before today. 


Ballintubber 0-6 Breaffy 1-1

Seamie O’Shea drives forward and feeds Dunne who hits the post from his point attempt. 


Ballintubber 0-6 Breaffy 1-1

This final hasn’t sparkled so far and 18-year-old Ciaran Gavin sends a free wide for Ballintubber from a tricky angle on the right flank.


Ballintubber 0-6 Breaffy 1-2

Breaffy win a free just inside the 45, this time Conor O’Shea takes it and pops it between the posts. 


There’s a crowd of 7,372 in Castlebar.


HT – Ballintubber 0-6 Breaffy 1-2


Balintubber 0-7 Breaffy 1-2

Cillian O’Connor lands a lovely free to give Ballintubber a two-point lead as the second-half resumes.


Ballintubber 0-7 Breaffy 1-3

Hennelly gets himself off the mark with a free. Big score for the Mayo county man.

West Brom also failed to regain top spot in the Championship.


Ballintubber 0-8 Breaffy 1-3

Alan Dillon rolls back the years will a lovely score for Ballintubber on the counter.


Ballintubber 0-9 Breaffy 1-4

A great move by Breaffy at pace and Tommy O’Reilly drives it over. Cillian O’Connor kicks a superb score from play immediately in response. Now the game is starting to open up!


Three scores of the highest standard on the bounce from either side. 


Ballintubber 0-9 Breaffy 1-5

Robbie Fadden puts over a fine score from distance. One point game.


Ballintubber 0-9 Breaffy 1-5

Aidan O’Shea fouls his work-mate Alan Dillon to hand O’Connor another scoring opportunity from a free. Meanwhile, O’Malley goes down after an off the ball incident. The referee is investigating what happened.


Ballintubber 0-10 Breaffy 1-5

Brilliant kick by O’Connor moves Ballintubber two ahead. He’s been outstanding from frees tonight. 


Ballintubber 0-10 Breaffy 1-6

Seamie O’Shea picks out his brother Aidan, who in turn feeds O’Reilly for a nice score. 


Ballintubber 0-11 Breaffy 1-6

Dillon to Jason Gibbons to O’Malley who splits the posts. Cracking move by Ballintubber.


Ballintubber 0-11 Breaffy 1-7

James Minogue is fouled by O’Malley in front of the posts. Conor O’Shea applies the finish and it’s a one-point game again. We’re set-up for a grandstand finish in Castlebar. 


Ballintubber 0-11 Breaffy 1-8

Minogue is dragged down by Ciaran Gavin as Breaffy go through the spine of the Ballintubber defence. Conor O’Shea brings Breaffy level with the free from about 35m.


Ballintubber 0-11 Breaffy 1-8

Ballintubber attack immediately and James Finnerty is fouled. Aidan O’Shea pushes his Mayo team-mate Cillian O’Connor over as they wrestle for possession. O’Connor gets up and drops the free into Hennelly’s hands. Big chance got for Ballintubber.


Ballintubber 0-12 Breaffy 1-8

Amazing score from Diarmuid O’Connor from way out the field to edge Ballintubber one ahead. Breaffy were on the attack but gave it away with a sloppy pass. We’ll have five minutes of stoppage-time. 


12 years since the last draw in a Mayo SFC final…


Breaffy have sent Aidan O’Shea into full-forward as they chase an equaliser and he’s being marked by Diarmuid O’Connor. 


Aidan O’Shea is fouled and he’s going to take the free himself from the right touchline.


Ballintubber 0-12 Breaffy 1-8

O’Shea’s free off the ground trails off to the right and wide. Breaffy have about three minutes to kick a score and force extra-time. 


We’re into the last 60 seconds and Ballintubber are in possession.


Ballintubber 0-12 Breaffy 1-8

Ballintubber kick a wide and now Breaffy have one last attack to save themselves.



Late chance as Conor O’Shea sends a ball towards Aidan, but he’s crowded out by Ballintubber.


FT – Ballintubber 0-12 Breaffy 1-8

It’s all over! Ballintubber are champions!


That’s Breaffy’s third county final defeat since 2013. They’ll be dissapointed not to have stolen a draw near the end.

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel