Dublin: 20°C Thursday 16 September 2021

Brian Cody reappointed for remarkable 24th season as Kilkenny senior hurling manager

Cody will be joined by James McGarry, Martin Comerford and Conor Phelan as selectors.

Cody has won 11 All-Irelands and 17 Leinster titles with Kilkenny (so far).
Cody has won 11 All-Irelands and 17 Leinster titles with Kilkenny (so far).
Image: Bryan Keane/INPHO

BRIAN CODY’S LEGENDARY Kilkenny tenure will extend to a remarkable 24th season after his reappointment was ratified by the county board on Monday night.

Cody turned 67 this summer, a few days before the Cats’ victory over Dublin in the Leinster final — the 17th provincial crown of his reign.

Kilkenny have also won 11 All-Ireland titles on Cody’s watch since he first took charge in late 1998. 

“Following a meeting of the Kilkenny GAA County Board on Monday night, Brian Cody has been ratified as Kilkenny Senior Manager for the 2022 season,” a statement read.

“James McGarry, Martin Comerford and Conor Phelan will be selectors for the season ahead.”

Derek Lyng will continue on in charge of the county’s U20 side for another campaign, with Peter Barry, Michael Rice and Peter Donovan rubber-stamped as his selectors.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Niall Bergin has been ratified as U17 manager having previously served as selector under Richie Mulrooney. Bergin’s backroom team has yet to be confirmed.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel