This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 1 °C Wednesday 26 February, 2020

Calling all aspiring GAA commentators…

A new competition is offering you the chance to win a unique prize on All-Ireland football or hurling weekend.

Famous GAA commentator Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh.
Famous GAA commentator Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

ALWAYS DREAMED OF commentating on the summer’s biggest football and hurling matches?

Well the GAA, in conjunction with RTE Raidió na Gaeltachta, are offering aspiring commentators to send in a 60 second clip of them at work (as Gaeilge) with the best ones being chosen on August 9.

The winning entrant will be awarded with two tickets for either the All-Ireland football or hurling final as well as a two-night stay in the Croke Park Hotel and access to the commentary box on the day.

Speaking about the competition, Raidió na Gaeltachta’s Seán Bán Breathnach, RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta said:

Commentating is my absolute dream job and I get goose pimples when Amhrán na bhFiann rings out before the matches.  I’d say to people interested in the competition to give it a try.

“Some people just have a natural talent for it, and maybe they don’t even realise it.  They might surprise themselves, and we’re really looking forward here in RnaG to hearing the entries.”

Send your 60-second clip as Gaeilge to, or by post to Comórtas Tráchtaireachta, RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta, Casla, Conamara, Co. na Gaillimhe. Closing date is 9 August. Include your name, address and phone number. Entries are open to men and women over 18 years of age.

Ladies GFA, GAA reach agreement to avoid fixture clash in Carrick

Murph’s Sideline Cut: Finally a win Galway fans can hang their hat on

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next: