# Camogie
Kilkenny duo and Galway star make Player of the Year shortlist
The Camogie All-Stars teams will be revealed at a virtual event on Saturday, 6 March.

LAST UPDATE | Feb 15th 2021, 12:06 PM

THE SHORTLISTS FOR the Camogie Association/WGPA Players’ Player of the Year Awards have been announced today. 

Denise Gaule, who scored 1-6 in December’s All-Ireland final, and her Kilkenny team-mate Grace Walsh have been nominated for Senior Player of the Year alongside Galway’s Shauna Healy, who was on the losing side at Croke Park that day. 

pjimage INPHO Denise Gaule (Kilkenny), Grace Walsh (Kilkenny) and Shauna Healy (Galway). INPHO

This year’s Camogie All-Stars Awards will be revealed at a virtual event on Saturday, 6 March. It will feature the Senior All-Stars team and the Soaring Stars team, which is made up of intermediate and junior players.

No nominee lists will be released prior to that due to the shortened nature of the 2020 championships.

“I am delighted that we will once more recognise some of the best performers in the 2020 Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Championships at this year’s All-Stars Awards,” said Camogie Association President Kathleen Wood.

“Although we cannot gather in person this year it will still be a great occasion to honour the winning players and mark another fantastic year of inter-county camogie action.

“In particular, the Players’ Player of the Year Awards are unique and prestigious honours for any player as they recognise the esteem in which players are held amongst their peers. This is the sixth year of these awards and the Camogie Association are delighted once again, in collaboration with both the WGPA and Liberty Insurance, to recognise at a national level, the immense contribution of our leading players.”

Senior Player of the Year shortlist

  • Denise Gaule (Kilkenny)
  • Grace Walsh (Kilkenny)
  • Shauna Healy (Galway)

Intermediate Player of the Year shortlist

  • Maeve Kelly (Antrim)
  • Niamh Mallon (Down)
  • Sara-Louise Graffin (Down)

Junior Player of the Year shortlist

  • Ciara Donnelly (Armagh)
  • Leanne Donnelly (Armagh)
  • Róisín O’Keeffe (Cavan)

Screenshot 2020-11-24 at 9.04.07 AM

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel