Donall Farmer/INPHO Richie Feeney hit the net for Castlebar today.
# one more step
All-Ireland finalists Castlebar Mitchels back into Mayo senior football decider
Richie Feeney hit a crucial goal for Castlebar.

Castlebar Mitchels 1-14
Garrymore 1-11

DEFENDING MAYO SFC champions Castlebar Mitchels withstood a late Garrymore challenge to book their place in this year’s decider.

A goal from Mayo player Richie Feeny on 42 minutes appeared to have put Castlebar in a comfortable position eight points in front but Garrymore rallied in the final quarter.
A goal from a penalty and a pointed free, both from the boot of Jimmy Killeen, brought Garry’ roaring back into it.

Points from Mark Tierney and Caolan Crowe had Garry’ within two with seven minutes to go and this year’s All-Ireland club finalists looked under serious pressure.

However, they steadied the ship and points from Patrick Durcan, Stephen Keane and Niall Lydon pushed the gap to five and Garry’s chance had passed.

The South Mayo men did kick three of the last four points, including county man Enda Varley’s solitary effort, but they needed another goal to salvage a draw and no such opportunity presented itself.

A dour first half was dominated by a ridiculous clash of jerseys with Garrymore’s red with white trim clashing badly with Castlebar’s red with yellow trim. The Mitchels saw sense at half-time, changing into a white set, but it shouldn’t have come to that.

The defending champions led 0-6 to 0-3 at half-time with Danny Kirby leading the charge at midfield.

Mitchels kicked four unanswered points at the start of the second half but a Martin Maloney inspired revival had Garrymore back in the mix before Feeney struck his goal.
That looked like being that but there were a few more twists left.

Scorers for Castlebar Mitchels: Richie Feeney (1-2), Barry Moran (0-3), Neil Douglas (0-3, 1 ’45), Patrick Durcan (0-2), Donal Newcombe (0-1), Niall Lydon (0-1), Cian Costello (0-1), Stephen Keane (0-1).

Scorers for Garrymore: Jimmy Killeen (1-1, 1-0 pen, 1f), Martin Maloney (0-3), Shane Nally (0-1), Darragh Henry (0-1), Caolan Crowe (0-1), Mark Tierney (0-1), Enda Varley (0-1), Michael Connolly (0-1), David Dolan (0-1).


1 Ciaran Naughton

3 Alan Feeney
6 Tom Cunniffe
2 Ronan Burke

5 Ray O’Malley
7 Patrick Durcan
4 Donal Newcombe

8 Barry Moran
9 Danny Kirby

14 Aidan Walsh
15 Neil Douglas
12 Fergal Durkin

13 Cian Costello
10 Niall Lydon
11 Richie Feeney

Subs for Castlebar Mitchels:
21 James Durcan for Cian Costello (41)
26 Eoghan O’Reilly for Fergal Durkin (47)
20 Stephen Keane for Ray O’Malley (57)
23 Sean Conlon for Aidan Walsh (60)


1 Morven Connolly

3 Kieran Cunningham
2 Jarlath Varley
4 Alan Cummins

5 Darragh Henry
9 David Dolan
7 Martin Maloney

8 Shane Nally
6 Alan O’Reilly

10 Jimmy Killeen
11 Caolan Crowe
12 Brendan Cunningham

20 Myles Fallon
14 Enda Varley
15 Mark Tierney

Subs for Garrymore:
17 Trevor Nally for 20 Myles Fallon (36)
28 Jimmy King for 4 Alan Cummins (39)
13 Michael Connolly for Brendan Cunningham (52)
24 Brian Lynskey for Mark Tierney (59)

Referee: Liam Devenney (Ballina).

LIVE: Dublin v Cork, All-Ireland ladies senior football final

Corofin dominate Milltown to book another Galway SFC final place

Your Voice
Readers Comments