Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Saturday 8 May 2021

3 sent-off as Cavan get the better of Fermanagh in All-Ireland qualifier

The teams met for the second time this summer after clashing in the Ulster championship last month.

Cavan goalscorer Martin Dunne.
Cavan goalscorer Martin Dunne.
Image: INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Cavan 1-14
Fermanagh 0-10

A MARTIN DUNNE goal helped Cavan defeat a Fermanagh team who finished with 13 men in this evening’s All-Ireland senior football round 2 qualifier in Kingspan Breffni Park.

Sean Quigley and Shane McCabe were dismissed for Peter Canavan’s Fermanagh side while Martin Reilly was sent-off for Cavan.

The sides met for the second time this summer after clashing in the Ulster championship last month when Cavan won in Brewster Park.

And on this occasion Terry Hyland’s side again triumphed, aided by Dunne’s goal in the 11th minute.

Cavan at one juncture lead by seven points in the first-half with Niall McDermott sweeping over a free in the 25th minute that sent them into a 1-6 to 0-2 lead.

They were ahead by 1-7 to 0-5 at the break with a mass brawl erupting as both teams made their way to the dressing-rooms. Quigley was sent-off when the teams emerged for the second-half and Cavan took control from there in the second-half too book their place in the draw for Round 3.

CAVAN: C Gilsenan (0-01, 0-01 ’45′); J McLoughlin, M Reilly (0-01), K Clarke; J McEnroe, A Clarke, R Flanagan (0-01); D O’Reilly (0-01), D Givney (0-01); C Mackey (0-01), T Corr, F Flanagan (0-02); N McDermott (0-02, 0-02f), M Dunne (1-03, 0-02f), E Keating (0-01).

Subs: J Brady for McDermott (29 mins), D McVitty for McEnroe (59), D McKiernan for Corr (63), K Tierney for Dunne (65), M McKeever for McLoughlin (69).

FERMANAGH: C Snow; J Woods, B Cox, D Kelly (0-01); D McCusker, R McCluskey, M O’Brien; E Donnelly (0-01), M McGrath; B Owens, S McCabe, R Jones; T Corrigan, S Quigley (0-04, 0-02f), T McElroy.

Subs: J Sherry for McGrath, C Quigley for McCusker, D Kille (0-04, 0-04f) for Corrigan (all 45 mins), D Keenan for Owens (51).

Referee: Michael Duffy (Sligo)

Rampant Armagh hammer Leitrim in Carrick-on-Shannon

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel