James Crombie/INPHO John O'Dwyer bagged 1-3 for Cork IT tonight.
too strong
Tipp's O'Dwyer and Cork's Coughlan the scoring stars as CIT claim 24-point Fitzgibbon win
Comfortable win for the Cork college against GMIT tonight.

Cork IT 3-22
GMIT 0-7

Denis Hurley reports from Cork IT

CORK IT’S PLACE in the quarter-finals of the Fitzgibonn Cup is all but assured after they enjoyed an easy victory at home to GMIT in Group D tonight.

The hosts for the semi-finals and finals of this year’s competition, CIT were always favourites to top the three-team section and another win next week against University of Ulster Jordanstown will rubber-stamp their progression.

In tough conditions at CIT, the home side scored the game’s first five points, with Jamie Coughlan and John Cashman getting two each and by half-time it was 0-7 to 0-2, Darragh Burke and Dan Nevin getting the visitors off the mark.

Nevin got the first score of the second half but any thoughts of a comeback were put to bed as CIT responded with another five. The score stood at 0-12 to 0-4 when John O’Dwyer got the first CIT goal after good work by John Cronin and Brendan Reddin, and the Tipperary star added three points in quick succession.

Coughlan got the second goal on 53 on his way to finishing with 1-10, while GMIT full-back Iomar Creavan was unfortunate to get a late own goal, handpassing the ball over goalkeeper James Barrett, who had left his line.

Jamie Coughlan Ryan Byrne / INPHO Cork's Jamie Coughlan notched 1-10 for CIT tonight. Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Cork IT: Jamie Coughlan 1-10 (0-7 frees), John O’Dwyer 1-3, John Cashman 0-3, Bill Cooper 0-2, John Cronin, Andrew Coffey, Brendan Reddin, Noel McNamara 0-1 each, 1-0 own goal.

Scorers for GMIT: Dan Nevin 0-3 (0-2 frees), Darragh Burke, Brendan Tuohey, Conor Gardiner, Jarlath Mannion 0-1 each.


(Cork clubs unless stated)

1. Gary Minihane (Courcey Rovers)

2. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock)
3. Michael Russell (Aghada)
4. Conor Hammersley (Clonoulty-Rossmore, Tipperary)

5. Ray Barry (Lismore, Waterford)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Darragh Brosnan (Brian Dillons)

8. Kevin O’Neill (Watergrasshill)
9. Seán O’Mahony (Ballymartle)

10. Michael Kearney (Ballyduff, Waterford)
11. John Cronin (Lisgoold)
12. Bill Cooper (Youghal)

13. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)
14. John Cashman (Lisgoold)
15. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule, Tipperary)

18. Brendan Reddin (Castletown, Laois) for O’Mahony (28)
20. David Noonan (Glen Rovers) for Brosnan (half-time)
28. William Murphy (Meelin) for O’Neill (39)
17. Andrew Coffey (Nenagh Éire Óg) for Cashman (44)
24. Noel McNamara (Kilworth) for O’Dwyer (51)


(Galway clubs unless stated)

1. James Barrett (St Thomas)

2. Declan Cronin (Cappataggle)
3. Iomar Creavan (Killimordaly)
4. John Finnerty (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)

5. Luke Cosgrave (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
6. Paul Hoban (Loughrea)
7. Darragh Burke (St Thomas)

8. Dan Nevin (Capptataggle)
9. Brendan Tuohey (Moneygall, Tipperary)

10. David Conroy (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield, Clare)
11. Seán Collins (Ballindereen)
12. Conor Gardiner (Tommy Larkins)

13. Jarlath Mannion (Cappataggle)
14. David Mangan (Kilconieron)
15. Joe Mooney (Loughrea)

18. Ryan Ellis (Clarinbridge) for Conroy (half-time)
20. Cathal Reilly (Liam Mellows) for Cosgrave (49)
23. Darragh Cooney (Killimordaly) for Mangan (53)
19. Enda Fallon (Liam Mellows) for Cronin (54)
21. Cathal Ryan (Castlegar) for Mooney (54)

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

4 changes to Cork football team for Sunday’s league opener against Mayo

Davy’s LIT hit four goals en route to Fitzgibbon Cup win as WIT and IT Carlow also triumph

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.