It was a good night for Cork U21 football team manager Sean Hayes. Ryan Byrne/INPHO
Munster U21FC

O'Donoghue and Coakley on form as Cork hammer Clare to reach Munster semi-finals

It was all too easy for the Rebels in Cooraclare this evening.

Clare 0-8
Cork 0-23

CORK HAVE CRUISED through to the semi-finals of the EirGrid Munster U21 football championship.

The Rebels had 15 points to spare against hosts Clare in Cooraclare this evening.

Last year’s runners-up will meet Waterford in the semi-finals next week.

Sean O’Donoghue scored six points for Cork and Brian Coakley added five for the team managed by Sean Hayes.

It was a strong second half display that got the job done for the pre-match favourites in front of 858 spectators.

Sean O'Donoghue Sean O'Donoghue scored six points for Cork this evening (file pic). James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Cork led by 0-10 to 0-5 at half-time and when Cian O’Dea slotted over the opening point of the second half for Clare, the Banner men were right back in contention.

But Cork hit bak with three unanswered points, O’Donoghue and Coakley (two) on target to ease any nerves for the visitors.

Keelan Sexton responded with a Clare point but they didn’t score again until stoppage time and by then, the outcome of this game was beyond any doubt.

A run of nine unanswered points from Cork in the second half eased them into a massive lead, with senior star Peter Kelleher another to impress at full-forward.

There was a solid display too from debutant Ronan O’Toole at midfield as Cork asserted their dominance.

Cork goalkeeper Anthony Casey played his part too with first half stops to deny Clare pair Sexton and Sean O’Donoghue and a run of six points in a row opened up a 0-8 to 0-2 advantage for the winners in the first half.

Scorers for Cork: S O’Donoghue 0-6 (three frees), B Coakley 0-5 (four frees), S Sherlock 0-3 (one free), P Kelleher, M Hurley 0-2 each, R Harkin, M McSweeney, R O’Toole, D O’Driscoll, M Ó Duinnín, S White (free) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: K Sexton 0-4 (three frees), C Brennan (one free), C O’Dea 0-2 each.


1. Anthony Casey (Kiskeam)

2. Dylan Quinn (St Finbarr’s)
4. Micheál McSweeney (Newcestown)
3. John Mullins (Éire Óg)

5. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
6. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
7. Kieran Histon (Cobh)

8. Seán White (Clonakilty)
9. Ronan O’Toole (Éire Óg)

10. Don O’Driscoll (Clann nan Gael)
11. Seán O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
12. Ryan Harkin (Mallow)

13. Brian Coakley (Carrigaline)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)


18. Eoin Lavers (Dohenys) for Histon (40)
22. Maidhc Ó Duinnín (Naomh Abán) for O’Donoghue (44)
20. Seán O’Leary (Bantry Blues) for O’Driscoll (45)
21. Shane Sherlock (St Finbarr’s) for Hurley (49)
19. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig) for McSweeney
17. Kevin Cremin (Boherbue) for Harkin (both 53).


1. Killian Roche (Cooraclare)

2. Conor O’Halloran (Éire Óg Ennis)
3. Darren Nagle (Liscannor)
4. Niall Lynch (Clondegad)

5. Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare)
6. Jack O’Dea (Kilfenora)
7. Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)

8. Dara Walsh (Éire Óg Ennis)
9. Liam Tierney (St Breckan’s)

10. Kieran Malone (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)
11. Cillian Brennan (Clondegad)
12. Conall Ó hAiniféin (Éire Óg Ennis)

14. Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry-Ibrickane)
17. Seán O’Donoghue (Cooraclare)
15. David Egan (Kilmihil)


20. Tadhg Lynch (Clondegad) for Egan
13. Michael Duffy (Kilfenora) for Walsh (both half-time)
19. Einne O’Connor (Éire Óg Ennis) for O’Donoghue (47)
22. Eoin Tubridy (Doonbeg) for Malone (54).

Referee: Seán Lonergan (Tipperary).

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

3 Galway seniors in U21 team for repeat of last year’s Connacht final

‘This is like going from kindergarten to grad school’ – A sneak peek at Aidan O’Shea’s American football experiment

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.