This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Wednesday 16 October, 2019

Captain Griffin the scoring star as Limerick come back to defeat Clare

The honours went to Limerick in the intermediate clash.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Limerick 3-14
Clare 2-15

Jackie Cahill reports from Semple Stadium

WILLIE GRIFFIN WAS the scoring star as Limerick saw off Clare in today’s Munster intermediate hurling quarter-final in Thurles.

The Shannonsiders advanced to a Munster semi-final clash with Tipperary on 21 June, thanks in main to a lethal brace of goals midway through the second half.

Sub Mike Fitzgerald was on the field less than four minutes when he netted in the 45th minute before captain Griffin made it two goals in two minutes for the Treaty men.

Griffin was superb at corner forward, bagging 2-6 for Limerick as they came from behind to win.

At half-time, Clare were 1-8 to 0-9 clear, with Ian Galvin’s sixth-minute goal effectively separating the sides.

The sides were level early in the second half before Ryan Taylor’s 38th-minute goal handed Clare a 2-8 to 0-11 lead.

But Limerick’s response was devastating as Fitzgerald and Griffin found the Clare net in quick succession.

Limerick eventually did enough to see off a youthful Clare side, with 2007 Allstar goalkeeper Brian Murray also doing his part between the sticks with a couple of decent saves.

A personal haul of 1-5 from Clare’s Ian Galvin wasn’t enough to prevent the Banner County slumping to defeat.

David Conroy was another to impress from midfield with four points, including three in the first half.

But despite registering eight wides in the first half, Don Flynn’s Limerick advanced to the last four of the provincial series, a competition they haven’t won since 2008.

Scorers for Limerick: Willie Griffin 2-6 (0-3f), Mike Fitzgerald 1-0, Diarmuid Byrnes 0-3 (2f, 1 65), William Hickey & Mark Carmody 0-2 each, Kevin O’Brien 0-1.

Scorers for Clare: Ian Galvin 1-5 (0-4f), David Conroy 0-4, Ryan Taylor 1-0, Michael O’Malley 0-3 (1f), Shane McGrath, Stephen Ward & David Moloney 0-1 each.


1. Brian Murray (Patrickswell)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
3. Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
4. Mike Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca)

5. Denis Moloney (Doon)
6. Diarmuid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
7. Barry Lynch (Feohanagh-Castlemahon)

8. Robert O’Donnell (Pallasgreen)
9. Andrew Brennan (Caherline)

10. Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell)
11. William Hickey (South Liberties)
12. Mark Carmody (Patrickswell)

13. Willie Griffin (Adare)
14. Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh-Castlemahon)
15. Mikey Ryan (Murroe-Boher)

22. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon) for O’Donnell (28)
19. Mike Fitzgerald (Doon) for Hickey (41)
23. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen) for Fitzgibbon (56)
24. Gary Murphy (Caherline) for Brennan (60+1)


1. Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle)

2. Aidan McGuane (Kilmaley)
3. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate)
4. Liam Corry (Éire Óg)

5. David Fitzgerald (Inagh Kilnamona)
6. Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones)
7. Brian Carey (Sixmilebridge)

8. Shane McGrath (capt. Feakle)
9. David Conroy (St Josephs Doora-Barefield)

10. Michael O’Malley (Kilmaley)
11. Stephen Ward (Clarecastle)
12. Shane Taylor (Broadford)

13. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
14. Diarmuid Moloney (Broadford)
15. Ryan Taylor (Clooney Quin)

22. Brian Corry (Sixmilebridge) for Moloney (37)
19. Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones) for O’Gorman (47)
20. Kevin Hehir (Inagh Kilnamona) for Carey (49)
21. Cian Moloney (Kilmaley) for Taylor (52)
17. Cillian Fennessy (Clonlara) for L Corry (58)

Referee: John O’Brien (Tipperary)

There’s been another injury setback for Kerry’s James O’Donoghue

LIVE: Cavan v Monaghan, Clare v Limerick, and all of Sunday’s GAA championship action

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel