This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 26 April, 2019

Clare and Limerick unveil team selections for Munster U21 hurling final

The counties will lock horns in Ennis on Thursday evening.

The Clare team huddle before last year's Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21 hurling quarter-final against Limerick.
The Clare team huddle before last year's Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21 hurling quarter-final against Limerick.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

CLARE BOSS DONAL Moloney has named an unchanged team for tomorrow evening’s Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21 hurling final, as the Banner County aim for a fourth successive provincial crown.

The same starting 15 that accounted for a fancied Waterford outfit at the semi-final stage has been selected.

Conor Cleary will captain the team from centre back with 2013 All-Ireland senior final replay hero Shane O’Donnell spearheading the attack.

Bobby Duggan and Ian Galvin ran riot against the Déise last time out and are named in the wing-forward positions.

Shane OÕDonnell reacts to a missed chance Shane O'Donnell will spearhead the Clare attack. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

There’s one change from the Limerick team that beat Tipperary as Kevin O’Brien misses out through injury. 

He’s replaced in the full-forward line by Pallasgreen’s Colin Ryan.

Throw-in at Cusack Park in Ennis is at 7pm and the game is live on TG4.


1. Keith Hogan (Clooney Quin)

4. Shane O’Brien (Clonlara)
3. David Fitzgerald (Inagh/Kilnamona)
2. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate)

5. Aidan McGuane (Kilmaley)
6. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown Malbay)
7. Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones)

8. David Conroy (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)
9. Kevin Hehir (Inagh/Kilnamona)

10. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)
11. Shane Gleeson (Cratloe)
12. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)

14. Stephen Ward (Clarecastle)
13. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)
15. Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin)


1 David McCarthy (Glenroe)

2 Mark O’Callaghan (Knockaderry)
3 Richie English (Doon)
4 Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

5 Diarmaid Byrnes​ (Patrickswell)(Vice Captain)
6 Barry O’Connell (Kildimo Pallaskenry)(Captain)
7 Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)

8 Darragh O Donovan (Doon)
9 Pat Ryan (Doon)

10 Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)
11 Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock)
12 David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh),

13 Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
14 Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
15 Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

‘I was bursting with joy inside’ – Waterford star on comeback from knee injury hell

‘We’ve fallen 10 years behind’ – former Cork hurling captain’s stark assessment

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next: