Dublin: 11°C Monday 23 May 2022

Clare prevail against Limerick to book All-Ireland quarter-final place

A clash on 24 July now beckons for Davy Fitzgerald’s side.

Clare's Aaron Shanagher and Limerick's Richie McCarthy
Clare's Aaron Shanagher and Limerick's Richie McCarthy
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Clare 0-19
Limerick 0-15

Fintan O’Toole reports from Semple Stadium

CLARE’S RECOVERY FROM their Munster semi-final loss continues after they fashioned a four-point All-Ireland Round 2 qualifier win over Limerick tonight.

A week after crushing Laois, this was a tougher test for the Banner but they did enough to triumph with a powerful first-half display laying the foundations for this win.

The victory propels Davy Fitzgerald’s side into the All-Ireland quarter-finals, the first time they have contested the last six stage since their All-Ireland winning season of 2013.

Limerick find themselves exiting the championship at the Round 2 qualifier stage for the second successive year and this loss looks set to be TJ Ryan’s last game in charge.

It was a disappointing outcome after a game where Limerick started brightly. They were in front by 0-5 to 0-2 at the midway juncture of the first-half with some classy points from the likes of Kevin Downes, Darragh O’Donovan and Shane Dowling.

Their advantage could have been embellished further when Dowling had a chance for a goal but Clare defender Brendan Bugler did superbly to get back and clear the ball off the line.

Despite being in front 0-5 to 0-2 by the 20th minute, Limerick lost the initiative and Clare incredibly outscored them by 0-9 to 0-0 for the remainder of the first-half.

Podge Collins (0-3) and Shane O’Donnell (0-2) were both sparkling in the Clare attack and the Banner were in a confident mood at the interval as they possessed a six-point advantage.

Clare were able to protect that lead in the third quarter with Tony Kelly’s excellent marksmanship pushing them 0-16 to 0-10 clear by the 54th minute. Finally Limerick came with a rally. Dowling, Diarmuid Byrnes and Paul Browne cut the deficit to three, and while Kelly grabbed a point for Clare, Dowling’s 63rd minute free left them 0-17 to 0-14 adrift.

The spoils were up for grabs but Limerick could make any further inroads into Clare’s advantage despite five minutes of injury-time being played. Clare were awarded a 68th minute penalty after Aaron Shanagher was felled by Limerick goalkeeper Nicky Quaid.

Tony Kelly elected to bang the resultant shot over the bar and despite James Ryan launching over a terrific injury-time score for Limerick, it was Ballyea man Kelly who had the final say with the point that sealed Clare’s success.


Scorers for Clare: Tony Kelly 0-9 (5f, 1 65, 0-1 pen), Podge Collins & Shane O’Donnell 0-3 each, David McInerney, Jack Browne, John Conlon & Aaron Shanagher 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Shane Dowling 0-6 (5f, 1 65), Diarmuid Byrnes 0-3, James Ryan 0-2, Darragh O’Donovan, Paul Browne, Kevin Downes & Gearoid Hegarty 0-1 each.


1. Andrew Fahy (Whitegate)

2. Oisín O’Brien (Clonlara)
3. Pat O’Connor (Tubber)
4. Cian Dillon (Crusheen) – Joint Captain

5. Jack Browne (Ballyea)
6. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown / Kilmaley)
7. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)

8. David McInerney (Tulla)
9. David Reidy (Éire Óg)

10. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)
11. Podge Collins (Cratloe)
12. Tony Kelly (Ballyea) – Joint Captain

13. John Conlon (Clonlara)
14. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)
15. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones)


25. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones) for Conlon (46)
19. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Browne (65)


1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4. Richie English (Doon)

5. Diarmuid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
6. Gavin O’Mahony (Kilmallock)
7. Paudie O’Brien (Kilmallock)

8. Paul Browne (Bruff)
9. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)

10. Declan Hannon (Adare)
11. James Ryan (Garryspillane)
12. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

13. Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
15. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)


23. Tom Morrissey (Ahane) for O’Donovan (half-time)
24. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s) for Hannon (half-time)
18. Seamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher) for O’Brien (41)
25. Barry Nash (South Liberties) for Mulcahy (56)
21. Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh) for English (60)

Referee: James Owens (Wexford)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Brilliant Wexford claim first senior hurling championship win over Cork in 60 years

Mayo bailed out by dubious penalty as they come from 6 down to beat Fermanagh

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: