Dublin: 14°C Sunday 22 May 2022

Limerick and Clare include senior stars for Munster U20 hurling opener

Throw-in for tomorrow night’s game is 7pm.

Limerick hurler Cathal O'Neill.
Limerick hurler Cathal O'Neill.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Updated Apr 5th 2022, 9:16 PM

LIMERICK AND CLARE have both included senior stars in their teams for tomorrow night’s Munster U20 hurling championship opener.

Ahead of the upcoming provincial senior hurling ties, managers John Kiely and Brian Lohan will be keeping a close eye on their young prospects.

The Banner travel to the Gaelic Grounds to play their opening Group 1 clash, with Cork the other team in this group.

Limerick have selected Colin Coughlan at wing-back, Cathal O’Neill at centre-forward and Adam English at wing-forward, a trio who have all tasted senior action this spring for the reigning All-Ireland champions. 

Patrick Crotty is named at centre-forward for Clare after playing in this spring’s senior league for Lohan’s team, while centre-back Cian Galvin also has senior experience.

But star forward Shane Meehan has been named on the bench, a potential indication that the Munster senior championship is the bigger priority for the talented Banner attacker this month.

Full-back Adam Hogan and midfielder Oisin Clune both starred for St Joseph’s Tulla in their historic Dr Harty Cup triumph in February. Clare management Terence Fahy and Tomás Kelly were also involved in overseeing Tulla’s success, while 2013 All-Ireland winner Brendan Bugler is also involved with this Clare management team.

The previous Dr Harty Cup final in 2020 was won by St Flannan’s with Cian Broderick, Jarlath Collins, Galvin, Conner Hegarty and Diarmuid Cahill from that team, all named to start here.

Limerick have their own rising stars with corner-back Evan O’Leary and corner-forward Shane O’Brien part of the Ardscoil Rís team that recently lifted the All-Ireland Croke Cup crown at Croke Park.

Throw-in for tomorrow night’s game is 7pm and the game is being live-streamed on Sport TG4 YouTube.


1. Conor Hanley Clarke (Kilmallock)

2. Chris Thomas (Doon), 3. Fergal O’Connor (Effin), 4. Evan O’Leary (Ahane)

5. Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown), 6. Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock – captain), 7. Ethan Hurley (Newcastlewest)

8. Joe Sweeney (Adare), 9. Eddie Stokes (Doon)

10. Aidan O’Connor (Ballybrown – vice captain), 11. Cathal O’Neill (Crecora Manister), 12. Adam English (Doon)

13. Shane O’Brien (Kilmallock), 14. Patrick Kirby (Patrickswell), 15. Donnacha O’Dalaigh (Monaleen)


  • 16. Josh O’Reilly (Ballybrown)
  • 17. Patrick Reale (Knockainey)
  • 18. Brian O’Meara (Mungret St. Pauls)
  • 19. Patrick Finn (Bruff)
  • 20. Liam Dennehy (Glenroe)
  • 21. Séan Whelan (Cappamore)
  • 22. Cian Scully (Dromin Athlacca Banogue)
  • 23. Cian O’Donovan (Doon)
  • 24. Barry Duff (Mungret St. Pauls)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member


1. Cian Broderick (Clarecastle)

2. Ian MacNamara (Killanena), 3. Adam Hogan (Feakle), 4. John Conneally (Clooney-Quin)

5. Jarlath Collins (Éire Óg), 6. Cian Galvin (Clarecastle), 7. Colm O’Meara (Clonlara)

8. Oisin Clune (Feakle), 9. Conner Hegarty (Inagh-Kilnamona)

10. Shane Punch (Ruan), 11. Patrick Crotty (Scarriff), 12. Cormac Murphy (O’Callaghan Mills)

13. Josh Guyler (Inagh-Kilnamona), 14. Jack Kirwan (Parteen), 15. Diarmuid Cahill (Corofin)


  • 16. Aaron Shanahan (Tulla)
  • 17. Conor Leen (Corofin)
  • 18. Keith Smyth (Killanena)
  • 19. Gearóid Sheedy (Ogonnelloe)
  • 20. Peter Power (Newmarket-on-Fergus)
  • 21. Keelin Hartigan (Scarriff)
  • 22. Oisín O’Donnell (Crusheen)
  • 23. Darragh Keogh (Clooney-Quin)
  • 24. Shane Meehan (Banner)

Extended Panel Members

  • Diarmuid Mullins (Crusheen)
  • Sean Wiley (Bodyke)
  • Seanie Ronan (Kilmaley)
  • Oran Cahill (Éire Óg)
  • Liam Murphy (Wolfe Tones)
  • Senan Dunford (Tubber)
  • Rory O’Connell (Clarecastle)
  • Seanie Withycombe (Tulla)
  • Liam McInerney (Tulla)
  • Conor Whelan (Whitegate)
  • Sean Rynne (Inagh/ Kilnamona)
  • Dylan Downes (Sixmilebridge)
  • Darragh McDermott (Parteen)
  • Adam Enright (Newmarket)
  • James O’Doherty (Clarecastle)

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel