Here are the draws for the 2017 Clare county senior championships

There are some fascinating ties in both the hurling and football championships.

Tony Kelly celebrates with Paul Flanagan Ballyea players Tony Kelly and Paul Flanagan celebrating last Saturday's victory. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

ALL-IRELAND CLUB finalists Ballyea will begin the defence of their Clare senior hurling championship against Wolfe Tones after the first round draw was made this evening.

Ballyea defeated Clonlara in last year’s decider to win their first county title and will face two-time winners Wolfe Tones in their first assignment of 2017.

Clonlara, meanwhile, get their campaign underway against Feakle while 2015 champions Sixmilebridge have been paired with Clarecastle.

The Kilmurry team Kilmurry-Ibrickane claimed last year's Clare senior football title. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

In the Clare senior football championship draw, holders Kilmurry-Ibrickane will face Wolfe Tones in the first round.

Clare senior hurling championship draw:

  • O’Callaghan’s Mills v Éire Og
  • Ballyea v Wolfe Tones
  • Feakle v Clonlara
  • Sixmilebridge v Clarecastle
  • Cratloe v Whitegate
  • Clooney-Quin v Newmarket
  • Inagh-Kilnamona v Crusheen
  • Tulla v St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield

Clare senior football championship draw:

  • Miltown v Doonbeg
  • Éire Og v Corofin
  • Ennistymon v Cratloe
  • Kilmurry Ibrickane v Wolfe Tones
  • Kilfenora v O’Curry’s
  • Lissycasey v St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield
  • St Brekan’s v Cooraclare

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Clare set to ‘hurl off the cuff’ and ‘play with freedom’ under new management

Clare footballers travel 500km inside 24 hours to represent club and county

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: