Nick Potts/PA Wire/Press Association Images
Golfing Royalty

Clarke, McIlroy 'proud' and 'humble' after being named on New Year Honour list

The Northern Irish golfers were recognised for their services to golf in 2011 as both picked up their maiden Major wins.

HAVING COLLECTED THEIR first Major titles this year, 2011 has ended on a high note for both Rory McIlroy and Darren Clarke – inclusion on the New Year Honours list.

Open winner Clarke becomes an OBE after events in Scotland last July while compatriot McIlroy has been appointed MBE following his stunning win at the US Open.

Rugby internationals Chris Paterson (Scotland) and Martyn Williams (Wales) were also honoured, along with Britain’s Taekwondo world champion Sarah Stevenson.

Former Aston Villa chairman Doug Ellis has been made a knight. There were also honours for Formula 1 with ex-world champion Nigel Mansell becoming a CBE for his work as President of UK Youth, while Red Bull car designer Adrian Newey has been awarded an OBE.

In response to the news, McIlroy tweeted:

READ - In pictures: A day in the life of 11-year-old Chinese golfer Ada Li

WATCH - These are the 5 most viewed sports videos in 2011

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.