Celebration for Clare hurling stars as they help Clonlara reach county senior final

Clonlara will now advance to face Sixmilebridge in the final after today’s 12-point win over Kilmaley.

Darach Honan, Cathal O'Connell and Colm Galvin could celebrate Clonlara's win today.
Darach Honan, Cathal O'Connell and Colm Galvin could celebrate Clonlara's win today.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Clare SHC semi-final replay

Clonlara 2-19
Kilmaley 1-10

Eoin Brennan reports from Cusack Park, Ennis

A SUPERB SECOND-half display saw Clonlara advance to their first Clare senior hurling final in six years this afternoon in Cusack Park, Ennis.

Following four semi-final exits in the last five years, the 2008 champions came from behind to finally power to a derby decider against Sixmilebridge at the second attempt.

It’ll be an interesting showdown for Clonlara boss Sean Stack, who was a stalwart with Sixmilebridge in his playing days.

Unlike the drawn game, this time it was Kilmaley who secured the vital first half goal to take the whip hand, with Mikey O’Neill’s teasing delivery from the left wing being bundled to the net by Diarmuid McMahon in the 20th minute.

That put Kilmaley in front for the first time since the third minute on their way to a 1-6 to 0-7 half-time advantage.

However, it was a different story on the restart as having hit three goals in the drawn game, Clonlara came hunting for more with Micheál O’Loughlin grabbing an early brace.

That was central to the match-winning turnaround that saw the South East Clare side hit 2-5 without reply to turn a two point half-time deficit into a 40th minute eight point advantage at 2-11 to 1-6.

Sean Stack Clonlara boss Sean Stack Source: Meabh Horan/INPHO

It effectively sucked the life out of Kilmaley’s brave challenge that had seen them strike late to overcome Ballyea in the quarter-final before also holding a minimum advantage in injury-time of the drawn game.

And with U21 Micheál O’Loughlin in impressive scoring form with 2-7 as well as scoring cameos for county seniors Darach Honan and Colm Galvin, Clonlara finished with the last five points to ease up to a first final appearance against their neighbours in a fortnight’s time.

Scorers for Clonlara: Micheál O’Loughlin 2-7 (1-1f, 2’65); Darach Honan 0-4; Colm Galvin 0-3; Nicky O’Connell 0-2; Cathal O’Connell, Cormac O’Donovan, Domhnall O’Donovan 0-1 each

Scorers for Kilmaley: Cian Moloney 0-5 (5f); Diarmuid McMahon 1-0; Aidan McGuane, Daire Keane 0-2 each; Michael O’Neill 0-1


1. Ger O’Connell

4. Cillian Fennessy
3. Garrett Kennedy
2. Shane O’Brien

5. Neil Ryan
6. John Conlon
7. Oisin O’Brien

8. Domhnall O’Donovan
12. Cathal O’Connell

9. Nicky O’Connell
11. Cormac O’Donovan
30. Paraic O’Loughlin

13. Micheál O’Loughlin
14. Colm Galvin
15. Darach Honan

10. Pat O’Hara for Ryan (52 mins)
19. Ciaran Downey for C. O’Donovan (56 mins)
18. Michael Collins for P. O’Loughlin (58 mins)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member


1. Bryan O’Loughlin

2. Eoin Enright
3. Conor McMahon
4. Sean Talty

5. Aidan McGuane
6. Alan Markham
7. John Clohessy

8. Brian Cahill
9. Michael O’Malley

12. Daire Keane
11. Michael O’Neill
14. Cian Moloney

13. Padraic McNamara
10. Eamonn Bracken
15. Diarmuid McMahon

18. Sean Kennedy for Talty (26 mins)
20. Brian McMahon for O’Neill (50 mins)
17. Conor Neylon for Keane (55 mins)

Referee: Rory Hickey (Éire Óg)


About the author:

Eoin Brennan

Read next: