This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 20 °C Friday 7 August, 2020

Corofin put 7-17 past All-Ireland intermediate champions in Galway opener

The reigning All-Ireland senior champions didn’t take long to find their groove.

Corofin’s Darragh Silke scores a goal.
Corofin’s Darragh Silke scores a goal.
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

COROFIN OPENED UP the defence of their Galway SFC crown with a high-powered 7-17 to 0-11 victory over Oughterard this afternoon.

The group opener featured the 2020 All-Ireland senior and intermediate champions, but Corofin’s class told as they ran in a huge score in the second-half.

Centre-forward Darragh Silke helped himself to 1-7, while further goals arrived from Michael Lundy, Jason Leonard, Dylan Canney, Dylan Wall, Michael Farragher and Matthew Cooley.

Corofin, who chasing their eight-county title, have now gone 36 games without defeat at championship level. There were also wins in Galway for Salthill-Knocknacarra and Mountbellew-Moylough over St Michael’s and Annaghdown respectively.

In Mayo, Lee Keegan’s Westport claimed the scalp of Aidan O’Shea’s Breaffy with a narrow one point victory while Ballina Stephenites ran out comprehensive winners over Kiltane.

Holders Garrycastle managed a vital four point win over neighbours Athlone, who are managed by Liam McHale in the Westmeath SFC. 

lee-keegan-and-aidan-oshea Westport’s Lee Keegan and Aidan O'Shea of Breaffy. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Padraig Pearses were three point winners over Michael Glaveys in today’s Roscommon SFC action while 2017 Meath SFC champions Simonstown enjoyed a 1-14 to 0-11 win over Skryne earlier today.

The Kildare SFC saw Clane hammer Monasterevan, while St Larences squeezed past Eadestown and Sarsfields had a big win over a talented Johnstownbridge outfit.

In the Cavan SFC, Ramore United enjoyed a three point win over Gowna and Mullahorn easily dispatched Laragh United, while Western Gaels were eight point winners over Fuerty in the second round of the Roscommon SFC, and Clondegad fell to Kilmihill by a point in the Clare SFC.  

Cavan SFC

Ramor Utd 2-11 Gowna 1-11

Mullahorn 3-15 Laragh Utd 0-9

Clare SFC 

Kilmihill 0-10 Clondegad 2-5

Derry SFC

Magherafelt 1-11 Ballinderry 0-6 

Galway SFC

Corofin 7-17 Oughterard 0-10

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Salthill-Knocknacarra 3-13 St Michael’s 0-10

Mountbellew-Moylough 1-7 Annaghdown 0-8

Kildare SFC

St Laurences 0-14 Eadestown 0-12

Clane 3-17 Monasterevan 0-2

Sarsfields 2-17 Johnstownbridge 0-10

Mayo SFC

Westport 2-11 Breaffy 0-17

Ballina Stephenites 3-11 Kiltane 1-5

Meath SFC

Simonstown Gaels 1-14 Skryne 0-11

Roscommon SFC 

Padraig Pearses 0-14 Michael Galveys 1-8

Westmeath SFC

Garrycastle 0-17 Athlone 2-7 

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel