Dublin: 6°C Tuesday 25 January 2022

Defending All-Ireland champions Corofin march on to Connacht SFC semi-final

The Galwaymen had 13 points to spare.

Corofin are back into the Connacht SFC semi-final
Corofin are back into the Connacht SFC semi-final
Image: Mike Shaughnessy/INPHO

Corofin (Galway) 1-17
Mohill (Leitrim) 0-7

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Corofin easily defeated Mohill at Tuam Stadium to advance to the Connacht Club semi-final.

Stephen Rochford’s team were far too crafty for Mohill, who battled, but were utterly outclassed by a splendid Corofin outfit.

Despite being forced to start without a string of regulars, including the influential Gary Sice, Corofin bossed the opening period.

Micheal Lundy and Michael Farragher prominent in attack for Corofin, who accumulated a healthy 0-10 to 0-2 interval advantage.

With Ronan Steede dominating the midfield exchanges Corofin were dictating the contest as Lundy and Burke were sharp up front.

Lundy contributed four points before the break, while Burke rifled over three as Leitrim standard bearers Mohill struggled.

Six minutes after the restart Burke and Lundy were involved creating a goalscoring chance which was brilliantly converted by captain Michael Farragher.

Ronan Kennedy replied with a Mohill point, but Corofin reeled off four without reply courtesy of Jason Leonard (2), Steede, and Shane Monaghan.

In the closing stages it was merely a damage limitation exercise for Mohill as Corofin closed the deal with the minimum of fuss.

Scorers for Corofin: Michael Farragher 1-2, Micheal Lundy 0-4, Ian Burke 0-3, Jason Leonard 0-4 (4fs), Shane Monaghan 0-2, Ronan Steede 0-1, Conor Cunningham 0-1.
Scorers for Mohill: Ronan Kennedy 0-3, Keith Beirne 0-3 (3fs), Domhnall Flynn 0-1.


1 Tom Healy

2 Padraic Kelly
3 Kieran Fitzgerald
4 Cathal Silke

5 Ciaran McGrath
6 Alan Burke
17 Conor Cunningham

7 Liam Silke
9 Ronan Steede

11 Micheal Lundy
15 Michael Farragher
13 Jason Leonard

21 Shane Monaghan
14 Martin Farragher
19 Ian Burke

26 Cathal Daly for Alan Burke (40 mins)
25 Patrick Madden for Martin Farragher (41 mins)
22 Joe Canney for L Silke (41 mins)
23 Justin Burke for Monaghan (46 mins)


1 Dermot Scollan

2 James Mitchell
3 Alan Armstrong
4 Ciaran Kennedy

7 Michael McGuinness
6 Ronan Gallagher
12 Shane Quinn

8 Domhnall Flynn
9 Darren McLoughlin

5 Oisin Madden
11 Padraig Tighe
10 Darragh Gordon

13 Alan McLoughlin
14 Ronan Kennedy
15 Keith Beirne

21 Keith Keegan for Mitchell (26 mins)
18 Ronan Gordon for Tighe (41 mins)
22 Alan Tuthill for D Gordon (47 mins)
20 Nathan Conboy for C Kennedy (52 mins)

Referee: Paddy Neilan (Roscommon).

Favourites Ballyboden do just enough to reach Dublin SFC final

10 of our favourite images from the sporting week

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel