Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 8°C
Dan Sheridan/INPHO Connacht's Tiernan O'Halloran.
# Starting XVs
O'Halloran makes Connacht comeback as the Southern Kings visit Galway
After undergoing a knee operation, the fullback comes in for tomorrow’s Pro14 clash.

TIERNAN O’HALLORAN IS back in the Connacht team to face the Southern Kings in tomorrow’s Pro14 meeting at the Sportsground (7.35pm, TG4).

The Ireland international underwent knee surgery at the back end of last season and wasn’t ready to play in last weekend’s 18-12 defeat to the Glasgow Warriors. However, the 26-year-old has got the nod from head coach Kieran Keane and starts at fullback.

“Tiernan returned to full training in the past week and we are very happy with his progress so he starts at fullback,” said Keane.

The Kings have a good few changes in personnel from their time in Super Rugby but I expect their style of play to remain the same. We are expecting a tough physical game and some exciting rugby on Saturday and our guys are going to have to be ready for that.”

Pro14 new boys the Kings suffered a heavy loss to the Scarlets on their debut in the competition a week ago and they make one change to that team with scrum-half Godlen Masimla coming in and Rudi van Rooyen dropping to the bench.

The South African side have spent the week training in Galway ahead of tomorrow’s game against the 2016 champions.


15. Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Darragh Leader
13. Tom Farrell
12. Bundee Aki
11. Matt Healy
10. Jack Carty
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Denis Buckley
2. Tom McCartney
3. Finlay Bealham
4. Ultan Dillane
5. James Cannon
6. Sean O’Brien
7. Jarrad Butler
8. John Muldoon


16.  Dave Heffernan
17. Denis Coulson
18. Conor Carey
19. Quinn Roux
20. Eoghan Masterson
21. Caolin Blade
22. Steve Crosbie
23. Eoin Griffin

Southern Kings 

15. Masixole Banda
14. Yaw Penxe
13. Berton Klaasen
12. Luzuko Vulindlu
11. Sibusiso Sithole
10. Kurt Coleman
9.  Godlen Masimla

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

1. Schalk Ferreira
2. Michael Willemse (captain)
3. Rossouw de Klerk
4. Jurie van Vuuren
5. Dries van Schalkwyk
6. Khay Majola
7.  Victor Sekekete
8.  Andisa Ntsila


16. Stephan Coetzee
17. Luvuyo Pupuma
18. Martin Dreyer / Entienne Swanepoel
19. Bobby de Wee
20. Siyabulela Mdaka
21. Rudi van Rooyen
22. Oliver Zono
23. Jacques Nel

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Munster make one change for Pro14 clash against Cheetahs

O’Driscoll: ‘ROG has to be careful about how quickly he finds himself back in his dream role’

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel