Monday 6 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
James Crombie/INPHO Denis Buckley and Conor Carey
# chasing that w
Tighthead Carey makes debut as Connacht chase first points of the season
The defending champions welcome Edinburgh to Galway in bad need of a win.

CONNACHT COACH PAT Lam has made three changes to his side as the defending champions seek their first points of the season at home to Edinburgh (Friday, 19.35, TG4).

New signing Conor Carey will make his first start for the province, the Belfast man packing down at tighthead alongside Tom McCartney and Denis Buckley.

The second change comes in the back row where Eoin McKeon comes in with Munster-linked Ultan Dillane moved to the second row in place of Andrew Browne.

Bundee Aki, another man linked with a move south by this morning’s Irish Independent, will be partnered by Peter Robb who replaces Eoin McKeon at inside centre.

Bundee Aki Morgan Treacy / INPHO Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

Edinburgh, who yesterday parted company with Alan Solomons, will be coached by Duncan Hodge and will be without Duncan Weir, who suffered a broken jaw in the defeat to Munster.

Former Ulster wing Michael Allen starts in the Scottish side’s back-line with Jason Tovey slotting in at number 10. Edinburgh’s pack is greatly boosted by the addition of John Hardie, Ross Ford, WP Nel and Grant Gilchrist.

Niyi Adeolokun Adeolokun at an indoor training session this week.

Connacht (v Edinburgh. Friday, 19.35, TG4)

15. Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Niyi Andeolokun
13. Bundee Aki
12. Peter Robb
11. Matt Healy
10. Jack Carty
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Denis Buckley
2. Tom McCartney
3. Conor Carey
4. Quinn Roux
5. Ultan Dillane
6. Eoin McKeon
7. Jake Heenan
8. John Muldoon (Capt.)


16. Dave Heffernan
17. Ronan Loughney
18. Finlay Bealham
19. Lewis Stevenson
20. James Connolly
21. Caolin Blade
22. Shane O’Leary
23. Cian Kelleher


15. Glenn Bryce
14. Damien Hoyland
13. Chris Dean
12. Solomoni Rasolea
11. Michael Allen
10. Jason Tovey
9. Sean Kennedy

1. Rory Sutherland
2. Ross Ford
3. WP Nel
4. Ben Toolis
5. Grant Gilchrist CAPTAIN
6. Magnus Bradbury
7. John Hardie
8. Cornell Du Preez


16. Stuart McInally
17. Jack Cosgrove
18. Allan Dell
19. Lewis Carmichael
20. Hamish Watson
21. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne
22. Sasa Tofilau
23. Blair Kinghorn

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Magic Damian McKenzie in line for All Black debut in Argentina

We’ve waited 12 months to see Peter O’Mahony – but the wait is nearly over

Your Voice
Readers Comments