This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 3 June, 2020

Senior hurler in the Waterford U21 football team for Munster semi-final against Kerry

Conor Gleeson will start at midfield against the Kingdom.

SENIOR HURLER CONOR Gleeson will be in action for the Waterford U21 footballers against Kerry in the EirGrid Munster semi-final tomorrow night.

Conor Gleeson Waterford hurler Conor Gleeson. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Gleeson emerged strongly for Waterford in last year’s senior hurling championship, lining out at wing-back when they lost out to Kilkenny in the All-Ireland semi-final replay in Thurles.

Last Sunday he was in action for Derek McGrath’s senior side in the Allianz Hurling League against Cork in Walsh Park.

Conor Gleeson with Bill Cooper Conor Gleeson (left) goes up against Cork's Bill Cooper last Sunday. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

He’s an accomplished footballer as well, lining out for the county U21′s last spring, and also played for his club The Nire in the AIB Munster senior football decider last November.

John Payne is tackled by Conor Gleeson Conor Gleeson (right) in action for The Nire against Dr Crokes Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Gleeson is joined in the starting side by clubmates Dylan Guiry and Stephen Ryan, who also played in that 2016 provincial senior decider.

Goalkeeper Kevin Dwane, wing-back Edmond O’Halloran, wing-forward Conor Murray and centre-forward Michael Sweeney all played some part in Waterford’s Munster U21 semi-final loss to Cork.

Throw-in tomorrow night at the Fraher Field in Dungarvan is 7.30pm.


1. Kevin Dwane (Ballinacourty)

2. Conor McCarthy (Ballinacourty)
3. Stephen Ryan (The Nire)
4. Michael Cronin (Ardmore)

5. Darach Ó Cathasaigh (An Rinn)
6. Sean Kelly (Gaultier)
7. Edmond O’Halloran (Clashmore-Kinsalebeg)

8. Dylan Guiry (The Nire)
9. Conor Gleeson (The Nire)

10. Conor Murray (Rathgormack)
11. Michael Sweeney (Stradbally)
12. David Looby (Ballinacourty)

13. Michael Culloo (Ballinameela)
14. Joe Allen (Dungarvan)
15. Craig Browne (Erins Own)

Source: The42 GAA/SoundCloud

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

2015 Leinster schools rugby cup winning captain on the bench for Cork U21 footballers

‘It would cause serious problems’ – What impact will Brexit have for the GAA in Ulster?

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: