INPHO/James Crombie The Midleton team celebrate.
# Glory Days
Lehane stars as Midleton end 22-year wait for Cork senior hurling title
Victory arrived against Sarsfields in today’s decider at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Midleton 2-15
Sarsfields 2-13

CONOR LEHANE STRUCK 2-10 to inspire Midleton to claim a first Cork senior hurling crown since 1991 in a brilliant decider this afternoon against Sarsfields.

Cork senior Lehane was the main man as he produced a superb attacking display to help Midleton triumph in an all East Cork final at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Reigning champions Sarsfields were chasing a fourth title in six years but they were defeated by Midleton who were appearing in their club’s first senior final since 1994.

Lehane, who grabbed 2-7 overall from play, and his inter-county colleague Luke O’Farrell both landed late points to edge Midleton in front after the teams had been tied at 2-13 apiece with eight minutes remaining.

It was Lehane who caught the headlines in the first-half. His goal in the 5th minute cancelled out the green flag that had been raised for Sarsfields by Michael Cussen a minute earlier.

Sarsfields took over from there with Cian McCarthy on the mark from frees and they were 1-7 to 1-4 clear in the 19th minute. Then Lehane pounced for his second goal of the game and Midleton went in at the break leading by 2-7 to 1-8.

The winners started the second-half brightly but were then pegged back after Cian McCarthy fired home Sarsfields second goal after good work from Michael Cussen. Sarsfields briefly lead by 2-11 to 2-10 but Midleton drew level as the sides traded points.

Yet Lehane and O’Farrell popped up with the vital scores and Midleton, who were reduced to 14 men when James Nagle was booked for the second time, defended stoutly to claim the honors.

They now advance to a Munster semi-final tie in a fortnight’s time against the winners of next weekend’s Clare county final between Sixmilebridge and Newmarket-on-Fergus.

MIDLETON: Tommy Wallace; Killian Burke, Patrick O’Mahony, Aylwin Kearney; Seamus O’Farrell, Finbarr O’Mahony, James Nagle; Paul Haughney, Peter Dowling; Padriag O’Shea, Conor Lehane, Aidan Ryan; Declan Ryan, Luke O’Farrell, Brian Hartnett.

SARSFIELDS: Alan Kennedy; Ray Ryan, Joe Barry, Conor O’Sullivan; Garry O’Kelly-Lynch, Eoin Quigley, Eanna Martin; Daniel Kearney, Eoin O’Sullivan; Gavin O’Loughlin, Cian McCarthy, Daniel Roche; Robert O’Driscoll, Michael Cussen, Kieran Murphy.

As it happened: Sunday GAA club match tracker

Ballymun and St Vincent’s to meet again as Dublin SFC final ends in draw