More outrageous scoring from Cora as thrilling Connacht final ends in a draw

Elsewhere over the weekend, there were provincial title wins for Foxrock-Cabinteely in Leinster and Mourneabbey in Munster.

Staunton in action for Carnacon (file pic).
Staunton in action for Carnacon (file pic).
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

PROVINCIAL RIVALS CARNACON and Kilkerrin-Clonberne played out a thrilling Connacht senior final this afternoon.

The highly dramatic affair ended in a draw — 5-17 to 6-14 — after a frenetic 60 minutes of football between the Mayo and Galway champions. It had it all — 11 goals, level 11 times, five penalties, two red cards and outrageous scoring from Cora Staunton.

According to MidWest Radio and FairGame Podcast Staunton clocked up 3-13, while John Brennan of the Mayo News reports her personal tally as 4-14. At the other end, Annette Clarke bagged 3-4 for the Galway outfit.

Recently signed for Greater Western Sydney Giants in the AFLW, 35-year-old Staunton flew home to finish out the year with her club.

But her wait for a remarkable 16th Connacht title with Carnacon continue. The replay is set for Tuam next Saturday.

In the Leinster senior final today, last year’s All-Ireland finalists Foxrock-Cabinteely won their third provincial title on the bounce.

The Dublin champions saw off Confey of Kildare on a scoreline of 4-17 to 1-7. They stormed into the lead and never looked back.

By half-time FoxCab were leading by 11 points, and a final tally of 4-17 — 2-13 from Amy Ring alone — helped them comfortably over the line.

The Munster senior final was contested on Friday evening, with Cork side Mourneabbey winning their fourth provincial crown in-a-row.

Managed by Shane Ronayne, who guided Tipperary to All-Ireland intermediate glory in Croke Park in September — they beat Waterford’s Ballymacarbry, the scoreline in the end 3-9 to 0-11.

Last year’s All-Ireland semi-finalists, and finalists in 2015 and 2014, the Cork outfit got off to the dream start and had 2-4 to their name with Ballymacarbry still scoreless by the 12th minute.

It turned into more of an end-to-end affair how and ever, but Cork captain Ciara O’Sullivan hit 2-3, while Maire O’Callaghan bagged the other goal to secure the win.

Ciara O'Sullivan Mourneabbey's Doireann O'Sullivan also starred. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

The fourth provincial senior final is yet to be played.

Monaghan side and reigning All-Ireland champions Donaghmoyne will contest their 14th consecutive Ulster final next weekend, and opposition comes in the form of Tyrone’s St Macartans.

It’s a repeat of the 2016 decider, and will be played on Sunday in Emyvale.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

2017 Connacht senior final

  • Carnacon (Mayo) 5-17 Kilkerrin/Clonberne (Galway) 6-14

Replay to be played next Saturday

2017 Leinster senior final

  • Foxrock-Cabinteely (Dublin) 4-17 Cofney (Kildare) 1-7

2017 Munster senior final 

  • Mourneabbey (Cork) 3-9 Ballymacarbry (Waterford) 0-11

2017 Ulster senior final 

  • Donaghmoyne (Monaghan) v St Macartan’s (Tyrone), Sunday 5 November

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

O’Rourke’s Simonstown Gaels retain Meath title as AFL rookie Nash plays key role

0-13 haul from McBrearty and McHugh hands Kilcar shock Ulster win over Scotstown

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel