Dublin: 11°C Monday 23 May 2022

Clare claim another big Munster win in Thurles as Cork in trouble after defeat

All eyes on Thurles for today’s Munster hurling showdown.

Clare 0-28

Cork 2-20

CLARE ENJOYED ANOTHER Sunday afternoon of success in Thurles but this one was loaded with extra significance in the Munster hurling race as it boost their championship hopes and means Cork are left facing an uphill task to remain in this summer’s inter-county race.

darragh-fitzgibon-and-david-mcinerney Cork and Clare players in action. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Two red cards were shown in the second half, Clare’s Ian Galvin and Cork’s Mark Keane dismissed for separate incidents, while Cork grabbed two goals courtesy of Alan Connolly and Darragh Fitzgibbon.

But the second of those strikes to the net came in the closing passages of play and in truth Clare were in command on the scoreboard of this encounter, a powerful opening period proving the launchpad for their success.

So much of the first half was played on Clare’s terms as they dictated the flow of the game. The teams were tied at 0-2 apiece after three minutes, then Clare accelerated clear by 0-15 to 0-4 with 28 minutes on the clock.

They had dominant performers all over the pitch with Rory Hayes in defence and Ryan Taylor at midfield epitomising their control. The scores flowed with Tony Kelly (0-5) and Peter Duggan (0-3) instrumental, while Cathal Malone, Taylor and Shane O’Donnell nailed two points apiece in the first half.

Cork were in serious trouble on their own puckout, little was sticking in attack in terms of deliveries and the Banner were on the cusp of another substantial half-time advantage, seven days after they were 13 points clear of Tipperary at this venue.

But Cork managed to gain some foothold before the break, winning the time frame from the 29th minute by 0-7 to 0-2 on the scoreboard. Darragh Fitzgibbon and substitute Alan Connolly both made their presence felt offensively while key forwards Patrick Horgan, Seamus Harnedy, Robbie O’Flynn and Shane Kingston all split the posts.

paul-flanagan-and-shane-kingston Clare's Paul Flanagan and Cork's Shane Kingston. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Cork almost received a major boost before the break but the shot Horgan drilled in was brilliantly tipped away by Eibhear Quilligan, Kingston tidying up a point from the rebound to leave six in it at the break, 0-17 to 0-11 in Clare’s favour.

Clare managed to take the sting out of Cork’s rally as the teams traded points in the scoreboard but the game appeared to change direction. Alan Connolly did brilliantly to poach a goal for Cork, Robbie O’Flynn clipped over a point to cut the deficit to four and then Clare were reduced to 14 men as Ian Galvin was sent-off.

The action was approaching the three-quarter mark and Clare’s credentials looked set to be severely tested but their response was admirable. They hit the game’s next three points after Galvin’s dismissal courtesy of David Fitzgerald, Diarmuid Ryan and Taylor.

robert-downey-and-peter-duggan Robert Downey and Peter Duggan. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

That settled Clare and they kept Cork at arm’s length, in position of a six-point advantage entering injury-time. 

Mark Keane’s sending-off hampered Cork’s chances further and while they produced a Horgan point and Fitzgibbon goal in injury-time to eat into Clare’s lead, a dramatic comeback never looked in the offing.

Scorers for Clare: Tony Kelly 0-10 (0-4f, 0-2 ’65), Ryan Taylor 0-3, David Fitzgerald 0-3, Peter Duggan 0-3, Shane O’Donnell 0-2, Ian Galvin 0-2, Cathal Malone 0-2, Robyn Mounsey 0-1, Diarmuid Ryan 0-1, David McInerney 0-1.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-10 (0-6f, 0-1 ’65), Alan Connolly 1-1, Darragh Fitzgibbon 1-0, Robbie O’Flynn 0-3, Seamus Harnedy 0-2, Shane Kingston 0-2, Tim O’Mahony 0-1, Conor Lehane 0-1.


1. Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle)

2. Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones), 3. Conor Cleary (St Josephs Miltown), 4. Paul Flanagan (Ballyea)

7. David McInerney (Tulla), 6. John Conlon (Clonlara), 5. Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe)

9. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge), 10. Ryan Taylor (Clooney/Quin)

8. David Fitzgerald (Inagh/Kilnamona), 14. Peter Duggan (Clooney/Quinn), 12. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg Ennis)

15. Ian Galvin (Clonlara), 11. Tony Kelly (Ballyea), 13. Robyn Mounsey (Ruan)


25. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones) for Mounsey (57)

18. Domhnall McMahon (Michael Cusacks) for Duggan (69)


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons), 3. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers), 4. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

5. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum), 6. Ciaran Joyce (Castlemartyr), 9. Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills)

7. Mark Coleman (Blarney – captain), 13. Shane Barrett (Blarney)

12. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own), 8. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville), 10. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)

15. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields), 14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers), 11. Shane Kingston (Douglas)


26. Alan Connolly (Blackrock) for O’Connor (26)

24. Conor Lehane (Midleton) for Barrett (half-time)

23. Conor Cahalane (St Finbarr’s) for Harnedy (56)

20. Tommy O’Connell (Midleton) for Millerick (inj) (59)

25. Mark Keane (Ballygiblin) for Kingston (62)

Referee: Paud O’Dwyer (Carlow)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole  / Reports from Semple Stadium

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel