Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Sunday 17 January 2021

17-point win for Cork delivers first Munster minor hurling title since 2008 in style

Man-of-the-match Evan Sheehan hit 2-2 for the Rebels.

Cork full-back Sean O'Leary Hayes catches the ball over Clare's Colin Haugh.
Cork full-back Sean O'Leary Hayes catches the ball over Clare's Colin Haugh.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Cork 4-21
Clare 0-16

Fintan O’Toole reports from Semple Stadium

CORK HAVE WAITED nine years for a crop of minor hurlers to come through on Munster final day and today they delivered in style as they blitzed Clare by 17 points.

Man-of-the-match Evan Sheehan set the tone by firing home two brilliant goals in the first half as Cork went in front 2-11 to 0-7 at the interval.

Substitute Barry Murphy notched the third goal in the 41st minute and towering full-forward Robert Downey wrapped up Cork’s victory with the fourth goal in injury-time.

Cork now advance to the All-Ireland semi-final on Sunday 13 August while Clare must prepare for a quarter-final tie.

Despite playing their third game in 11 days, Cork showed no ill-effects from the exertions of their two game semi-final saga against Tipperary.

Denis Ring’s charges hit the first three points of the game and while Clare fought back through top scorer Tiarnán Agnew, Cork went ahead 1-5 to 0-4 in the 17th minute.

Sheehan made a brilliant incisive run and after his first shot was impressively stopped by Clare goalkeeper Eamonn Fuody, he found the net from the rebound.

Four minutes later Sheehan struck a wonderful second goal and Cork were sailing clear by ten points at the break with midfielder Daire Connery producing a superb first-half display.

In the second half they were in complete control with the third goal essentially wrapping up proceedings.

Clare fought hard to the end with Agnew and Killian McDermott pointing the way but Cork’s defence was spearheaded by the terrific Sean O’Leary Hayes and James Keating.

Up front Sheehan, Downey, Brian Turnbull and Liam O’Shea all caused problems. By the final whistle Cork had ten different players on the scoresheet as they march forward to the All-Ireland series.

Scorers for Cork: Evan Sheehan 2-2, Daire Connery 0-6 (0-5f), Robert Downey 1-2, Barry Murphy 1-1, Brian Turnbull 0-4 (0-2f), Liam O’Shea 0-2, Brian Buckley, Sean O’Leary-Hayes, Craig Hanafin, Brian Roche 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Tiarnán Agnew 0-7 (0-6f), Killian McDermott 0-3, Cian Minogue 0-2 (0-1f), Keith White, Diarmuid Ryan, Aidan McCarthy, Riain Considine 0-1 each.


1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarriffe)
3. Sean O’Leary-Hayes (Midleton – captain)
4. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)

5. Aaron Walsh Barry (Carrigtwohill)
6. James Keating (Kildorrery)
7. Ger Millerick (Fr. O’Neill’s)

8. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)
12. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

9. Diarmuid Lenihan (Ballyhooly)
10. Craig Hanafin (Na Piarsaigh)
13. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh)

15. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)
14. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
11. Liam O’Shea (Lisgoold)


20. Barry Murphy (Castlelyons) for Linehan (half-time)
23. Declan Hanlon (Blarney) for Hanafin (48)
19. Ross Howell (Douglas) for Walsh Barry (48)
21. Brian Buckley (Dromina) for O’Shea (53)
22. David Jones (Dromina) for Brian Roche (56)


1. Eamonn Foudy (Inagh-Kilnamona)

4. Bradley Higgins (Kilmaley)
3. Ross Hayes (Crusheen)
17. Cian McInerney (Inagh-Kilnamona)

6. Cian Minogue (Bodyke)
5. Aidan McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
7. Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe)

8. Keith White (Inagh-Kilnamona)
9. Lee Brack (Clarecastle)

10. Rian Considine (Cratloe)
11. Tiernan Agnew (Sixmilebridge)
12. Eoin Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)

14. Gary Cooney (O’Callaghan’s Mills)
22. Conor Tierney (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)
15. Breffni Horner (Crusheen)


24. Killian McDermott (Clarecastle) for Brack (half-time)
20. Colin Haugh (Ruan) for Considine (35)
23. Gearóid Cahill (Corofin) for Fitzgerald (39)
13. Paul Corry (Sixmilebridge) for Horner (inj) (45)

Referee: John Murphy (Limerick)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Galway fire home 3 goals in Salthill as they complete Connacht minor three-in-a-row

5 talking points after Waterford finally claim Kilkenny scalp in Thurles thriller

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: