Friday 3 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
# Rising Stars
Three senior players in Cork team for Munster U21 opener against Clare
Rebels boss Sean Hayes has named his team for Wednesday’s clash against Clare.

CORK HAVE SELECTED three senior players for their opening game in the EirGrid Munster U21 football championship on Wednesday night against Clare.

Wing-back Kieran Histon, centre-back Stephen Cronin and full-forward Peter Kelleher provide the senior experience for Rebels boss Sean Hayes.

Peter Kelleher celebrates scoring their second goal of the game Ryan Byrne / INPHO Peter Kelleher celebrates hitting the net for the Cork senior side last Saturday against Dublin. Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Histon started in Cork’s senior league opener against Mayo at the end of January while Nemo Rangers player Cronin made his senior championship debut for Cork last June against Clare and kept his place during their summer campaign.

Cronin’s availability is a major boost for Cork as he has recovered from fracturing his leg in a club game for Nemo Rangers last August.

Barry John Keane and Stephen Cronin Ryan Byrne / INPHO Stephen Cronin (right) in action for Cork against Kerry last year Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

The third Cork senior player is Kelleher, who has caught the eye recently in the Allianz football league when he struck two goals against Roscommon and one against Dublin.

There are four survivors from the Cork U21 side that started in last April’s Munster final defeat to Tipperary.

Cronin, Sean White, Sean O’Donoghue and Kelleher started that game while Dylan Quinn and Micheal McSweeney came on as substitutes that night in Semple Stadium.

Sean O'Donoghue James Crombie / INPHO Cork U21 footballer Sean O'Donoghue James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


1. Anthony Casey (Kiskeam)

2. Dylan Quinn (St Finbarrs)
3. John Mullins (Eire Og)
4. Michael McSweeney (Newcestown)

5. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
6. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
7. Kieran Histon (Cobh)

8. Sean White (Clonakilty)
9. Ronan O’Toole (Eire Og)

10. Don O’Driscoll (Clann na Gael)
11. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
12. Ryan Harkin (Mallow)

13. Brian Coakley (Carrigaline)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)


16. Ross Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
17. Kevin Cremin (Boherbue)
18. Eoin Lavers (Dohenys)
19. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
20. Sean O Leary (Bantry Blues)
21. Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarrs)
22. Mick Dineen (Naomh Aban)
23. Sean O Donovan (Ilen Rovers)
24. Cian Dorgan (Ballincollig)

Paul Galvin defends views on sending-offs in the Tralee battle between Kerry and Donegal

‘They are a very resilient bunch of players. There was a lot of soul-searching of course.’

Your Voice
Readers Comments