Dublin: 11°C Saturday 18 September 2021

Four-in-a-row champions Cork and history makers Donegal unveil strong league final sides

Cavan and Westmeath have also named their starting teams for the Division 2 decider.

REIGNING CHAMPIONS CORK and history makers Donegal have named their sides for Sunday’s Lidl Ladies National League Division 1 final in Parnell Park (throw-in 4pm).

Lidl Ladies Football National League Division 1 & 2 Finals Captains Day Doireann O'Sullivan and Geraldine McLaughlin at Tuesday's media day. Source: Sam Barnes/SPORTSFILE

Cork are without their captain Ciara O’Sullivan, but her younger sister Doireann is taking over for the day and she lines out at full forward.

Ephie Fitzgerald has named two changes to his side from their semi-final victory over Dublin as they go in search of five-in-a-row. O’Sullivan replaces her sister, while Middleton’s Orlagh Farmer comes in for Annie Walsh in the half forward line.

Seven of the starting players are making their league final debuts.

Among those are in-form Eire Óg forward Eimear Scally and midfielder Niamh Cotter. Brid O’Sullivan, Jess O’Shea, Melissa Duggan, Libby Coppinger and Emma Spillane are also making their league final debuts.

Meanwhile, Donegal have named a strong side as they hope to bring Cork’s reign at the top to an end.

Micheál Naughton has made just one change to his starting team that overcame Galway to reach their first-ever Division 1 league final. Kate Keeney replaces Deirdre Foley at wing back.

Sharpshooting duo Geraldine McLaughlin and Yvonne McMonagle remain in the full forward line alongside Termon’s Roisín Friel, while another huge attacking threat — Amber Barrett — has been named on the bench.


1. Martina O’Brien (Clonakilty)

2. Marie Ambrose (St. Val’s)
3. Roisin Phelan (Aghada)
4. Emma Spillane (Bantry Blues)

5. Melissa Duggan (Dohenys)
6. Brid Stack (St. Mary’s)
7. Shauna Kelly (Araglen Desmonds Buí)

8. Niamh Cotter (Beara)
9. Jess O’Shea (Inch Rovers)

10. Libby Coppinger (St. Colum’s)
11. Brid O’Sullivan (Mourneabbey)
12. Orlagh Farmer (Midleton)

13. Eimear Scally (Éire Óg)
14. Doireann O’Sullivan (Mourneabbey)
15. Orla Finn (Kinsale)


16. Meabh O’Sullivan (Mourneabbey)
17. Annie Walsh (Inch Rovers)
18. Ashling Hutchings (Fermoy)
19. Eimear Meaney (Mourneabbey)
20. Rhona Ní Bhuachalla (Naomh Fionnbarra)
21. Louise Coholan (St. Val’s)
22. Grace Kearney (Bride Rovers)
23. Aine Hayes (Rosscarbery)
24. Maire O’Callaghan (Mourneabbey)
25. Mairead Corkery (St. Val’s)
26. Laura Cleary (Éire Óg)
27. Aisling Barrett (Donoughmore)
28. Saoirse Moore (Fermoy)
29. Aisling O’Sullivan (Mourneabbey)
30. Aine O’Sullivan (Beara)


1. Aoife McColgan (Malin)

2. Treasa Doherty (Camadonagh)
3. Emer Gallagher (Termon)
4. Nicole McLaughlin (Termon)

5. Therese McClafferty (Termon)
6. Ciara Hegarty (Moville)
7. Kate Keeney (Four Masters)

8. Katy Herron (Glenfin)
9. Karen Gutherie (Glenfin)

10. Gráinne Houston (Glenfin)
11. Niamh Hegarty (Moville)
12. Shannon McGroddy (Termon)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

13. Roisín Friel (Termon)
14. Geraldine McLaughlin (Termon)
15. Yvonne McMonagle (Glenfin)


16. Laura Gallagher (Glenswilly)
17. Kaneisha McKinney (St Eunans)
18. Kelly Wilson (Convoy)
19. Deirdre Foley (Carndonagh)
20. Caroline Gallagher (Buncrana)
21. Aoife McDonnell (Naomh Conaill)
22. Eilish Ward (St Nauls)
23. Paula McGrory (Buncrana)
24. Aisleen Cunningham (Killybegs)
25. Lucy O’Flynn (Termon)
26. Niamh Carr (Milford)
27. Niamh Mailey (Convoy)
28. Niamh McDaid (Carndonagh)
29. Laoise McConnell (Robert Emmets)
30. Amber Barrett (Milford)

In the Division 2 decider (throw-in 2pm), old foes Cavan and Westmeath go head-to-head for the title, with promotion to the top flight also on the line.

Both sides have named relatively unchanged sides from throughout their respective league campaigns.

Cavan line out the same as they did in their semi-final win over Clare, while Westmeath have made just one change from theirs — St Loman’s Lucy McCartan starts at corner forward in place of Tracey Dillon.

Lidl Ladies Football National League Division 1 & 2 Finals Captains Day Laura Lee Walsh captains Westmeath, while Sinead Greene leads Cavan. Source: Sam Barnes/SPORTSFILE

Westmeath were beaten by this year’s Division 1 finalists Donegal in last year’s decider.


1. Elaine Walsh (Killygarry)

2. Rachael Doonan (Templeport)
3. Ailish Cornyn (St. Francis)
4. Mona Sheridan (Mullahoran)

5. Sinéad Greene (Templeport)
6. Laura Fitzpatrick (St. Finbarrs)
7. Sheila Reilly (Mullahoran)

8. Sinead O’Sullivan (Lacken)
9. Donna English (Arva)

10. Caitriona Smith (Killygarry)
11. Amy Rooney (Kingscourt Stars)
12. Neasa Byrd (Crosserlough)

13. Aishling Sheridan (Mullahoran)
14. Claragh O’Reily (Lurgan)
15. Aisling Doonan (Templeport)


1. Karen Walsh (Milltown)

2. Rachel Dillon (Milltown)
3. Amie Giles (Coralstown/Kinnegad)
4. Aileen Martin (St. Loman’s Mullingar)

5. Fiona Coyle (St. Mary’s Rochfortbridge)
6. Rebecca Dunne (St. Loman’s Mullingar)
7. Laura Brennan (Garrycastle)

8. Karen McDermott (Rochfortbridge)
9. Maud Annie Foley (Coralstown/Kinnegad)

10. Fiona Claffey (Foxrock Cabinteely)
11. Leona Archibold (St. Loman’s Mullingar)
12. Kelly Boyce Jordan (Milltown)

13. Lucy McCartan (St. Loman’s Mullingar)
14. Laura Lee Walsh (Na Fianna)
15. Ciara Blundell (St. Loman’s Mullingar)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Using football to deal with loss and coming to Dublin to end Cork’s reign, ‘not for the day out’

Cork bid for five-in-a-row without captain but Fitzgerald confident in ‘new group’

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next: