Dublin: 9°C Tuesday 24 May 2022

Waterford, Tipperary, Cork and Dublin name teams for All-Ireland quarter-finals

It’s a Super Saturday as Waterford face Tipp, and Cork and Dublin lock horns.

Déise boss Liam Cahill.
Déise boss Liam Cahill.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Updated Jul 30th 2021, 9:30 PM

WATERFORD SENIOR HURLING manager Liam Cahill has made one change to his side ahead of tomorrow’s All-Ireland championship quarter-final against Tipperary.

Shane McNulty starts at corner back in place of the suspended Conor Gleeson.

Throw-in at Páirc Uí Chaoimh tomorrow is 1.30pm [live on RTÉ One].

Tipperary boss Liam Sheedy, likewise, has kept personnel switches to a minimum.

JK Brackens man Paddy Cadell comes into defece for Seamus Kennedy, who’s named on the bench.

Meanwhile, Dublin manager Mattie Kenny has made two changes to his starting 15 for tomorrow’s other All-Ireland Quarter final clash.

The Sky Blues face Cork at Semple Stadium, Thurles [7pm, live on Sky Sports].

Cian O’Callaghan and Ronan Hayes start for the 2020 Leinster finalists with Eoghan O’Donnell – who had been struggling with injury – and Mark Schutte making way.

And Cork have made one change in the team they have named for tomorrow night’s clash with the Dubs.

Conor Cahalane comes into the attack at wing-forward with Alan Cadogan dropping to the bench

Waterford (v Tipperary)

1. Shaun O’Brien (De La Salle)

2. Ian Kenny (Ballygunner), 3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside), 4. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)

5. Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower), 6. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart), 7. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater), 9. Peter Hogan (Ballygunner)

10. Jack Fagan (De La Salle), 11. Jack Prendergast (Lismore), 12. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)

13. Dessie Hutchinson (Ballygunner), 14. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion), 15. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan).

(Subs listed in graphic below)

Tipperary (v Waterford)

1. Barry Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), 3. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), 4. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Eire Óg)

5. Paddy Cadell (JK Bracken’s), 6. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh), 7. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Alan Flynn (Kildangan), 9. Michael Breen (Ballina)

10. Jason Forde (Silvermines), 11. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), 12. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)

13. Jake Morris (Nenagh Eire Óg), 14. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), 15. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch).

(Subs listed in graphic below)

tipp Source: Tipperary GAA.

Dublin (v Cork)

1. Alan Nolan (St Brigid’s)

2. Andrew Dunphy (St Brigid’s), 3. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf), 4. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala)

5. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille), 6. Liam Rushe (Na Fianna), 7. James Madden (Ballyboden St. Enda’s)

8. Rian McBride (St Vincent’s), 9. Conor Burke (St Vincent’s)

10. Danny Sutcliffe (St Jude’s), 11. Donal Burke (Na Fianna), 12. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)

13. Cian Boland (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh), 14. Ronan Hayes (Kilmacud Crokes), 15. Cian O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s)

(Dublin are yet to name their subs)


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons), 3. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers), 4. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra).

5. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum), 6. Mark Coleman (Blarney), 7. Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills).


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

8. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville), 9. Luke Meade (Newcestown). 

10. Conor Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), 11. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s), 12. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own).

13. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields), 14. Shane Kingston (Douglas), 15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers).


16. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

17. Sean O’Leary-Hayes (Midleton)

18. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons) 

19. Niall Cashman (Blackrock) 

20. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)

21. Billy Hennessy (St Finbarr’s)

22. Shane Barrett (Blarney)

23. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)

24. Alan Connolly (Blackrock)

25. Sean Twomey (Courcey Rovers)

26. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel