Cork defeat Dublin as first-half goals key to book All-Ireland semi-final with Kilkenny

Cork ran out eight-point victors in Semple Stadium.

Tim O'Mahony celebrates his goal with Cork team-mate Patrick Horgan.
Tim O'Mahony celebrates his goal with Cork team-mate Patrick Horgan.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Cork 2-26 

Dublin 0-24

CORK PROGRESSED TO the All-Ireland semi-finals with an eight-point victory over Dublin in Thurles tonight, but the final winning margin belies a tricky second half for the Rebels.

Having been eight points clear at half-time, 2-13 to 0-11, following first-half goals from Tim O’Mahony and Shane Kingston, Cork were nine ahead in the early stages of the second half but the period before and after the second-half water-break saw Dublin eat into the Rebels’ advantage as the lead.

Unfortunately for Mattie Kenny’s side, they could not come within four points of their opponents, who now face Kilkenny in the last four on Sunday 8 August.

While Cork had briefly led as the first of Jack O’Connor’s points made it 0-4 to 0-3 in the ninth minute, Dublin were on top for much of the opening quarter but O’Mahony’s goal – a drivng run from a Robbie O’Flynn pass – made it 1-6 to 0-6 and Cork led thereafter.

They had opened up a lead of 1-11 to 0-8 by the 26th minute with Séamus Harnedy, Conor Cahalane, Mark Coleman and Seán O’Donoghue all impressing and, while Donal Burke’s frees brought Dublin back to within five as injury time began, Kingston netted Cork’s second goal, pulling a loose ball to the net after O’Flynn had just failed to Patrick Horgan with a pass.

alan-nolan-saves-a-shot-from-robbie-oflynn Robbie O'Flynn in action for Cork. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Conor Burke and Cian Boland had Dublin points to cut the gap on the resumption but Horgan’s dead-ball accuracy looked to be easing Cork clear as they led by 2-20 to 0-17 when O’Connor got his third on 49.

Danny Sutcliffe and Donal Burke had Dublin points before the water-break and, though Cork replied through Horgan and sub Shane Barrett, four in a row from Dublin – scored by Riain McBride, sub Jake Malone, Donal Burke and Sutcliffe – left it 2-22 to 0-24 and the clock showing 65 minutes.

Dublin wouldn’t score again though, with a tight Cork full-back line never looking like coughing up a goal. The Rebels secured the win thanks to late points from Horgan (two), Niall O’Leary and replacement Alan Connolly.

conor-burke-and-darragh-fitzgibbon Source: Lorraine O’Sullivan/INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-12 (0-8f, 0-1 ’65), Seamus Harnedy 0-4, Tim O’Mahony 1-1, Shane Kingston, 1-0, Jack O’Connor 0-3, Robbie O’Flynn 0-2, Conor Cahalane, Shane Barrett, Niall O’Leary, Alan Connolly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin: Donal Burke 0-13 (0-7f, 0-1 ’65), Cian O’Sullivan 0-3, Conor Burke, Danny Sutcliffe 0-2 each, Liam Rushe, Cian Boland, Rian McBride, Jake Malone 0-1 each.


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

4. Seán O’Donoghue (Inniscarra), 3. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers), 2. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons)

7. Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills), 6. Mark Coleman (Blarney), 5. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)

8. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville), 9. Luke Meade (Newcestown)

12. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own), 10. Conor Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), 11. Séamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)

13. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields), 15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers), 14. Shane Kingston (Douglas)


22. Shane Barrett (Blarney) for Kingston (48)

17. Seán O’Leary Hayes (Midleton) for O’Donoghue (58)

24. Alan Connolly (Blackrock) for O’Flynn (60)

21. Billy Hennessy (St Finbarr’s) for Meade (63)

18. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons) for O’Leary (70)


1. Alan Nolan (St Brigid’s);

2. Andrew Dunphy (St Brigid’s), 3. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf), 4. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala)

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

5. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille), 6. Liam Rushe (Na Fianna), 7. James Madden (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

8. Riain McBride (St Vincent’s), 9. Conor Burke (St Vincent’s)

11. Donal Burke (Na Fianna), 12. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields), 10. Danny Sutcliffe (St Judes)

15. Cian O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s), 14. Ronan Hayes (Kilmacud Crokes), 13. Cian Boland (St Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghan Ruadh)


19. Jake Malone (Cuala) for O’Callaghan (49)

22. Davy Keogh (Thomas Davis) for O’Sullivan (52)

23. Oisín O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes) for Boland (63)

24. Paul Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields) for Hayes (69)

Referee: James Owens (Wexford).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel