David Clifford is back in Kerry's starting fifteen. Bryan Keane/INPHO

Kerry, Armagh, Cork and Galway name teams for league openers

Walsh Cup finalists Dublin and Wexford have also shown their respective hands.

LAST UPDATE | 28 Jan 2022

KERRY SENIOR FOOTBALL manager Jack O’Connor has named his side to face Kildare in their National League opener in Newbridge on Sunday [throw-in 1.45pm].

Seán O’Shea is named as captain, with plenty of familiar faces in the starting fifteen.

There are two changes to the Kingdom side that won the McGrath Cup last time out: Dara Moynihan and David Clifford coming in for Stephen O’Brien and Tony Brosnan respectively, while defender Dan O’Donoghue is set to make his league debut.

Kildare are yet to name their side.


1. Shane Murphy (Dr Crokes)

2. Dan O Donoghue (Spa, Killarney), 3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue), 4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

5. Paul Murphy (Rathmore), 6. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe), 7. Gavin White (Dr Crokes)

8. Seán O’Shea (Kenmare Shamrocks), 9. Adrian Spillane (Templenoe)

10. Micheál Burns (Dr Crokes), 11. Paudie Clifford (Fossa), 12. Dara Moynihan (Spa, Killarney)

13. Killian Spillane (Templenoe), 14. David Clifford (Fossa), 15. Paul Geaney (Dingle)


  • 16. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)
  • 17. Tony Brosnan (Dr Crokes)
  • 18. Brian Ó Beaglaíoch (An Ghaeltacht)
  • 19. Gavin Crowley (Templenoe)
  • 20. Jack Savage (Kerins O Rahillys)
  • 21. Graham O’Sullivan (Piarsaigh na Dromoda)
  • 22. Greg Horan (Austin Stacks)
  • 23. Dylan Casey (Austin Stacks)
  • 24. Darragh Roche (Glenflesk)
  • 25. Éanna Ó Conchúir (An Ghaeltacht)
  • 26 Cian Gammell (Killarney Legion)

Elsewhere in Division 1, Armagh have also shown their hand.

Kieran McGeeney’s side take to Croke Park for their meeting with Dublin tomorrow night [throw-in 7.30pm].

Like Dublin and Kildare in the top-flight of the league, Tyrone, Monaghan, Donegal are yet to name their teams or matchday panels, though Mayo were in quick with their side yesterday.

Meanwhille in Division 2, Keith Ricken has announced his Cork team to play Roscommon.

Ricken has opted for regular goalkeeper, Míchéal Martin, with a full back line of Sean Powter, Sean Meehan and Tadhg Corkery. Cian Kiely, John Cooper and Matthew Taylor comprise the half-backs; Joe Grimes and Colm O’Callaghan are at midfield with Daniel O’Connell, Blake Murphy and David Buckley in the half forwards.

The full forward line includes Brian Hurley, Mark Cronin and Daniel Dineen.

In total there are five league debutants: John Cooper, Joe Grimes, Daniel O’Connell, David Buckley and Mark Cronin.


1. Míchéal Martin (Nemo Rangers)

2. Sean Powter (Douglas), 3. Sean Meehan (Kiskeam), 4. Tadhg Corkery (Cill na Martra)

5. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig), 6. John Cooper (Eire Óg), 7. Matthew Taylor (Mallow)

8. Joe Grimes (Clonakilty), 9. Colm O’Callaghan (Eire Óg)

10. Daniel O’Connell (Kanturk), 11. Blake Murphy (St. Vincent’s), 12. David Buckley (Newcestown)

13. Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers), 14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven), 15. Daniel Dineen (Cill na Martra)


  • 16. Christopher Kelly (Eire Óg)
  • 17. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
  • 18. Paudie Allen (Newmarket)
  • 19. Paul Ring (Aghabullogue)
  • 20. Rory Maguire (Castlehaven)
  • 21. Shane Merrit (Mallow)
  • 22. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
  • 23. Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree)
  • 24. Mark Buckley (Dohenys)
  • 25. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
  • 26. Chris Óg Jones (Iveleary)

joe-grimes Cork's Joe Grimes during the McGrath Cup final. Bryan Keane / INPHO Bryan Keane / INPHO / INPHO

Galway are another Division 2 side with their team released as of Friday night.

Padraig Joyce’s Tribe face Meath at Pearse Stadium on Sunday [throw-in 2pm], with five changes to the starting side that triumphed in the FBD league final: Kieran Molloy, John Daly, Matthew Tierney and Shane Walsh and Tomo Cullhane replace Sean Fitzgerald, Johnny Heaney, Cormac McWalter, Patrick Kelly and Dessie Conneely.

Antrim native Owen Gallagher is set to make his Galway league debut, 10 years after he inflicted the last defeat of manager Joyce’s inter-county career.

Dublin and Wexford have also named their teams for tomorrow’s Walsh Cup final; the pre-season Leinster hurling competition the curtain-raiser at HQ [throw-in 5.30pm] before Dublin-Armagh tomorrow evening:

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel