Dublin: 16°C Tuesday 28 June 2022

Galway peg back Cork after O'Neill's second-half scoring show

The two favourites to win promotion from Division 2 finished all square.

Cork's Conor Dorman and Galway's Séan Armstrong
Cork's Conor Dorman and Galway's Séan Armstrong
Image: Mike Shaughnessy/INPHO

Galway 0-14
Cork 1-11

John Fallon reports from Pearse Stadium, Galway

COLM O’NEILL WAS the hero and villain for Cork as these two favourites for promotion to the top flight couldn’t be separated at Pearse Stadium.

O’Neill was introduced nine minutes after the restart and proceeded to kick five excellent points, four of them from play.

But then he missed a free from 40 metres just to the right with the last kick of the game as the Rebels seemed poised to snatch it at the death.

Cork won the toss and opted to play against the wind in the opening half and were in a great position when they led by 1-3 to 0-5 at the interval.

It took Cork 17 minutes to get off the mark when Luke Connolly found the range but they would have been further ahead at the break had they not shot nine wides to Galway’s two.

Galway goalkeeper Ruairi Lavelle did well to deprive Aidan Walsh but he could do nothing to prevent an effort from Paul Kerrigan hitting the net after a good passing movement after 18 minutes.

Galway, who got off the mark with a couple of frees from league debutant Barry McHugh, didn’t use the wind advantage, although Danny Cummins pulled back a point before Cork extended their lead to 1-3 to 0-3 with a brace from Mark Collins.

Galway were given some hope before the interval when corner-back Declan Kyne went forward to shoot a good point and McHugh landed a third free to leave one between them at the interval.

Galway started the second-half brightly with two frees from McHugh and two from play by Cummins and Paul Conroy pushed them 0-9 to 1-3 in front.

Niall Coakley hit back with a free for Cork and O’Neill and John O’Rourke tacked on points.

The sides then exchanged points three times before Ruairi Deane edged Cork in front five minutes from time.

O’Neill doubled the lead but Galway finished well with Cillian McDaid and Cathal Sweeney shooting points to tie the match and after O’Neill missed the chance to win it, the Rebels were reduced to 14 when Brian O’Drsicoll picked up a second yellow card.

Scorers for Galway: B McHugh 0-6 (0-6f), D Cummins 0-3 (0-1f), D Kyne 0-1, P Conroy 0-1, G O’Donnell 0-1, C McDaid 0-1, C Sweeney 0-1.

Scorers for Cork: C O’Neill 0-5 (0-1f), P Kerrigan 1-0, M Collins 0-2, L Connolly 0-1, N Coakley 0-1 (0-1f), J O’Rourke 0-1, R Deane 0-1.


1. Rory Lavelle (Renvyle)

2. Declan Kyne (Clonbur)
3. David Walsh (Killannin)
4. Luke Burke (Caltra)

5. Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars)
6. Gareth Bradshaw (Moycullen)
7. Johnny Heaney (Killannin)

8. Paul Conroy (St James’)
19. Michael Day (Headford)

10. Tom Flynn (Athenry)
14. Barry McHugh (Mountbellew/Moylough)
12. Eamon Brannigan (St Michael’s)

13. Danny Cummins (Claregalway)
11. Damien Comer (Annaghdown)
15. Sean Armstrong (Salthill/Knocknacarra)


23. Cillian McDaid (Monivea/Abbey) for Brannigan (43)
18. Michael Daly (Mountbellew/Moylough) for Armstrong (45)
24. Cathal Sweeney (Killannin) for Heaney (69)
17. Peter Cooke (Moycullen) for Day (71)


1. Ryan Price (O Donovan Rossa)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

6. James Loughrey (Mallow)
3. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
2. John McLoughlin (Kanturk)

5. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
4. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)
26. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)

8. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
10. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)

9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s)
12. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
11. Sean Powter (Douglas)

13. Niall Coakley (St Jude’s)
23. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)
15. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)


19. Colm O’Neill (Balyclough) for Coakley (44)
22. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers) for Powter (46)
18. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh) for Dorman (51)
14. Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond) for Connolly (59)
17. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers) for Maguire (65)
20. Gary Murphy (Castletownbere) for Kerrigan (72)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Referee: Sean Hurson (Tyrone).

Jack is back and Rock points the way as Dublin see off Cavan in league opener

As it happened: Donegal v Kerry, Cavan v Dublin — Sunday GAA match tracker

About the author:

John Fallon

Read next: