Dublin: 18°C Monday 18 October 2021

Cork U21 and sub senior keeper to start in All-Ireland final on Sunday in Páirc Uí Chaoimh

Cork take on Kilkenny in the intermediate decider.

IT’S BEEN A busy few weeks for Cork hurling goalkeeper Patrick Collins.

A sub on the senior side that won the Munster final and between the posts for the U21 side that defeated Waterford in a Munster semi-final last Thursday.

Shane Bennett scores past Patrick Collins Patrick Collins can't stop Shane Bennett from netting in last week's Munster U21 semi-final. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Now Collins has been named in goal for the Cork intermediate side to face Kilkenny in Sunday’s All-Ireland final at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, just three days before the Cork U21′s take on Limerick in the Munster decider.

Collins is joined in the starting line-up for the intermediate showdown by his brother Michael at midfield. That duo lined out in Cork’s last Munster U21 final in 2014 as did wing-back Kevin Kavanagh and substitute Rob O’Shea, a former county senior player.

Michael Collins and Colm Barry with Jamie Barron Michael Collins in action against Waterford's Jamie Barron in the 2014 Munster U21 semi-final Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Cork are captained by full-back Shane O’Donovan, who won an All-Ireland club junior hurling medal last February with Mayfield in Croke Park, along with centre-forward Nicky Kelly.

Shane O'Donovan lifts the cup Mayfield's All-Ireland club winning captain Shane O'Donovan Source: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

Kilkenny reached this stage with a Leinster final win over Wexford and they will name their team tomorrow night.

Throw-in on Sunday afternoon is 2pm with this game the curtain-raiser for the senior meeting of Waterford and Wexford.


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Brian O’Sullivan (Fermoy)
3. Shane O’Donovan (Mayfield – captain)
4. Shane Hegarty (Dungourney)

5. Kieran Morrison (Fermoy)
6. Donnacha O’Donovan (Ballinhassig)
7. Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline)

8. Danny O’Flynn (Charleville)
9. Michael Collins (Ballinhassig)

10. Darren Casey (Charleville)
11. Nicky Kelly (Mayfield)
12. Gerry O’Neill (Courecy Rovers)

13. Sean Hayes (Mallow)
14. Willie Leahy (Aghada)
15. David Drake (Carrigaline)


16. Aidan Long (Mallow)
17. Alan Dennehy (Charleville)
18. Tom Lawrence (Brian Dillons)
19. Ciaran O’Brien (St Ita’s)
20. Lorcan O’Neill (Kanturk)
21. John Cooper (Éire Óg)
22. Rob O’Shea (Carrigtwohill)
23. Noel McNamara (Kilworth)
24. Mark Kennefick (Ballygarvan)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

3 changes to Clare team for crunch quarter-final with Tipperary as Banner hit with injuries

Quiz: How is your knowledge of GAA matches at Páirc Uí Chaoimh?

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: