Dublin: 8°C Friday 27 May 2022

Jack O'Connor names strong Kerry team for McGrath Cup final

The Kingdom take on Cork in Killarney on Saturday.

Kerry's Gavin White.
Kerry's Gavin White.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

KERRY MANAGER JACK O’Connor has named his team for Saturday’s McGrath Cup final meeting with Cork in Killarney.

O’Connor has named a strong side for the 2pm throw in, making just a handful of changes from the 21-point win over Tipperary last week.

Shane Murphy returns in goal for the Kingdom, behind an unchanged full-back line.

In the half-back line, Gavin White comes in in the number seven jersey, as Sean O’Shea – who captains the side – and Adrian Spillane continue in midfield. 

The half-forward line is also unchanged, while Tony Brosnan replacing Dara Roche at corner forward, and three-time All Star David Clifford is named among the substitutes.

Earlier today Keith Ricken named his Cork team for the game, which will be among the first sporting events in Ireland this year not to be subject to crowd restrictions.

Kerry (v Cork)

Shane Murphy

Dan O Donoghue, Jason Foley, Tom O’Sullivan

Paul Murphy, Tadhg Morley, Gavin White

Sean O Shea, Adrian Spillane

Micheál Burns, Paudie Clifford, Stephen O’Brien


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Tony Brosnan, Paul Geaney, Killian Spillane

Subs: Shane Ryan, David Clifford, Gavin Crowley, Brian Ó Beaglaoich, Graham O’Sullivan, Dara Roche, Jack Savage, Greg Horan, Paul O’Shea, Jack O’Shea, Cian Gammell, Éanna Ó Conchúir, Adam Donoghue, Dylan Casey.

Source: The42 Rugby Weekly/SoundCloud

Bernard Jackman, Murray Kinsella and Gavan Casey discuss Andy Farrell’s exciting-looking Six Nations squad; Jason Jenkins’ unexpected interprovincial move; and Bernard’s former player at Grenoble, Jordan Michallet, who passed away tragically this week aged 29

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel