This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Sunday 9 December, 2018

3 players sent-off as Cork's second-half comeback clinches win over Longford

Glennon Brothers Pearse Park staged today’s contest.

Cork 2-9
Longford 1-6

Fintan O’Toole reports from Glennon Brothers Pearse Park

SECOND-HALF GOALS from Colm O’Neill and Ian Maguire propelled Cork to victory over Longford in their All-Ireland senior football qualifier Round 3B clash this afternoon.

Peadar Healy and Cork fans celebrate Cork manager Peadar Healy celebrates the victory with supporters. Source: Tom Beary/INPHO

Cork overcame a four-point interval deficit with a much improved display in a second-half that saw three players sent-off.

Cork’s James Loughrey and Longford’s Darren Gallagher were both shown red cards in the 53rd minute for striking offences.

James Loughrey receives a red card James Loughrey is shown a red card during today's game Source: Tom Beary/INPHO

Then in the closing minutes Longford’s Diarmuid Masterson saw the line after a second yellow card was brandished in his direction.

The home side looked on the cusp of another giant killing act – seven days after they shocked Monaghan – at the break when they held a 1-4 to 0-3 advantage in front of 3,567 fans at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park.

Longford were full value for that position as well with Brian Kavanagh calmly planting the ball in the net from the penalty spot in the 25th minute after Robbie Smyth was adjudged to have been fouled by Cork defender Noel Galvin.

Brian Kavanagh scores a penalty Brian Kavanagh slots home a penalty for Longford Source: Tom Beary/INPHO

It looked to be a soft penalty but Kavanagh capitalised and with Cork failing to score in the first-half after the 10th minute, Longford went in at half-time in high spirits.

But Cork emerged to produce a more formidable showing in the second-half aided by the contributions of substitutes Seán Powter, Patrick Kelly and Colm O’Neill.

It was O’Neill who drilled a shot to the net for Cork’s first goal in the 49th minute after Paul Kerrigan and Powter who helped prise apart the Longford rearguard.

And the crucial second goal arrived for Cork in the 60th minute when Patrick Kelly’s delightful pass released Ian Maguire close to goal, he sidestepped the Longford defence and slipped the ball home.

Longford ran out of steam in the second-half as Cork upped the intensity and finished the stronger. Cork had made a bright start with Loughrey, Kerrigan and Michael Hurley – on his full senior championship debut – kicking them into a 0-3 to 0-1 lead by the 10th minute.

Brian O Driscoll and James McGivney Cork's Brian O'Driscoll tries to break past the Longford defence Source: Tom Beary/INPHO

But then Cork faltered as they committed too many turnovers and failed to penetrate the Longford defence. Longford drew level thanks to Barry McKeon and Diarmuid Masterson before Kavanagh’s goal and a James McGivney point left the home fans in full voice at the interval.

Cork began the second-half with renewed enthusiasm. A Mark Collins brace sandwiched a converted free by Colm O’Neill to steady their challenge.

Then O’Neill hit that 49th minute goal and Kelly clipped over a point a minute later to leave them ahead 1-7 to 1-4.

An outstanding long-range point in the 55th minute by Kavanagh finally got Longford off the mark but they were struggling to make headway.

Maguire’s goal rocked the home side further and even though Michael Quinn pulled back a point for Longford, it was Cork who sealed victory with late scores from Kerrigan and John O’Rourke.

Mark Collins with Michael Quinn and Dermot Brady Cork's Mark Collins gathers the ball ahead of Longford's Michael Quinn and Dermot Brady Source: Tom Beary/INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Colm O’Neill 1-1, Ian Maguire 1-0, Mark Collins, Paul Kerrigan 0-2 each, James Loughrey, JohnO ‘Rourke, Michael Hurley, Patrick Kelly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Longford: Brian Kavanagh 1-1 (1-0 pen), Michael Quinn, Diarmuid Masterson, Barry McKeon (0-1f), James McGivney, Robbie Smyth 0-1 each.


1. Ryan Price (O’Donovan Rossa)

2. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
4. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)

7. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
6. James Loughrey (Mallow)
5. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)

8. Alan O’Connor (St Colum’s)
9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s)

12. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
11. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
20. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)

17. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
10. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)


24. Seán Powter (Douglas) for Brian O’Driscoll (34)
13. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough) for Goulding (half-time)
22. Patrick Kelly (Ballincollig) for Kevin O’Driscoll (half-time)
19. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers) for Kelleher (57)
23. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues) for O’Connor (70)
25. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers) for O’Neill (black card) (71)


1. Paddy Collum (Fr. Manning Gaels)

5. Donal McElligott (St. Columbas)
3. Barry Gilleran (Longford Slashers)
10. Barry O’Farrell (Carrickedmond)

2. Cian Farrelly (Emmet Óg)
4. Dermot Brady (Longford Slashers)
6. Michael Quinn (capt) (Emmet Óg)

8. Michael Brady (Longford Slashers)
9. Darren Gallagher (St. Mary’s)

7. Diarmuid Masterson (Dromard)
12. Barry McKeon (Colmcille)
11. James McGivney (St. Columbas)

13. Robbie Smyth (Abbeylara)
14. Brian Kavanagh (Kilmacud Crokes)
15. Liam Connerton (Rathcline)


18. Mark Hughes (Emmet Óg) for Brady (45)
25. Paul McGee (Dromard) for McKeon (54)
17. Dessie Reynolds for Connerton (63)
19. Brian Farrell (Mostrim) for Kavanagh (64)
22. Rory Connor (Kenagh) for Farrelly (Emmet Óg)

Referee: Barry Cassidy (Derry)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Exceptional second-half performance sees Banner down Sligo

Here’s this year’s Kerry senior football quarter-final draw

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel