Dublin: 10°C Wednesday 18 May 2022

Last-gasp Hurley strike seals semi-final spot for Cork as Mayo suffer setback

Brian Cuthbert’s side advance to the last four with a game to spare.

Donncha O’Connor and Kevin O’Driscoll celebrate with Brian Hurley after his late goal.
Donncha O’Connor and Kevin O’Driscoll celebrate with Brian Hurley after his late goal.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

Cork 2-7
Mayo 0-12

A LAST-GASP goal from Brian Hurley booked a Division 1 league semi-final spot for Cork today as they claimed a dramatic win over Mayo.

Hurley found the net after a superb run forward by Conor Dorman had created the opening for the Castlehaven man to raise a green flag.

Victory is a setback for Mayo’s hopes of reaching the knockout stages as they get set for their final round game at home to Donegal next Sunday. But Cork have secured a place in the semi-finals on 12 April and can relax ahead of next Sunday’s long trip to face a Derry team who were relegated when they lost last night to Dublin.

Cork got off to a great start with an early goal from Mark Collins and some good points from Com O’Neill. However Mayo reeled them in and were in from 0-7 to 1-3 at the interval. Tom Parsons (0-3), Kevin McLoughlin (0-2) and Jason Doherty (0-2) were Mayo’s principal scorers on the day.

Cork came level early in the second-half but Mayo pushed on again and were two points clear entering injury-time. They looked set for victory but Brian Cuthbert’s side caught them at the finish line to continue their fine spring form to date.

Scorers for Cork: Brian Hurley 1-1, Mark Collins 1-0, Fintan Goold 0-2, Conor Dorman, Tom Clancy, Colm O’Neill (0-1f), Donncha O’Connor (0-1f) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Mayo: Tom Parsons 0-3, Jason Doherty (0-1f), Kevin McLoughlin (0-1f) 0-2 each, Donal Vaughan, Aidan O’Shea, Danny Kirby, Mark Ronaldson, Stephen Coen 0-1 each.


1. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)

2. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)
3. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr’s)
4. James Loughrey (Mallow)

5. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
6. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
7. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)

8. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
9. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)

10. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
11. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
12. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

13. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)
14. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)

Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond) for Collins (bs 15-17)
Eoin Cadogan (Douglas) for O’Sullivan (21)
Patrick Kelly (Ballincollig) for C O’Driscoll (43)
Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond) for Kerrigan (46)
John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers) for Collins (52)
Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg) for O’Neill (57)
John Hayes (Carbery Rangers) for K O’Driscoll (63)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)
3. Kevin Keane (Westport)
4. Keith Higgins (C) (Ballyhaunis)

5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)

8. Barry Moran (Castlebar Mitchels)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
9. Tom Parsons (Charlestown Sarsfields)
12. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)

13. Mark Ronaldson (Shrule/Glencorrib)
14. Danny Kirby (Castlebar Mitchels)
15. Alan Dillon (Ballintubber)​

Michael Conroy (Davitts) for Dillon (46)
Conor O’Shea (Ballintubber) for Conroy (46) (bc)
Mikey Sweeney (Kiltane) for Ronaldson (54)
Stephen Coen (Hollymount-Carramore) for Keane (56)
Alan Freeman (Aghamore) for Moran (63)
Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen) for Kirby (70)

Galway comeback beats Roscommon and throws Division 2 promotion race wide open

LIVE: Cork v Wexford, Waterford v Galway, Tipperary v Offaly – Allianz hurling league

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: