Dublin: 16°C Friday 17 September 2021

O'Neill fires two goals and match winning point as Cork triumph away to Monaghan

The Rebels are top of the table tonight as the only unbeaten side in the division.

Colm O'Neill celebrates after he scored a goal for Cork.
Colm O'Neill celebrates after he scored a goal for Cork.
Image: Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO

Cork 2-14
Monaghan 1-16

COLM O’NEILL FIRED two goals and the match winning point as Cork’s long trip to Castleblayney proved rewarding against Monaghan in today’s Division 1 clash.

The Rebels followed up last week’s opening day victory over Dublin and now sit top of the league table as the only unbeaten side in the division.

O’Neill was Cork’s scoring star as they came from behind to win but Conor McManus, Monaghan’s leading forward on the day, had a late chance to draw the match only for his shot from a free to go wide.

Monaghan, buoyed by last week’s success away to Tyrone, were in front at the break by 1-6 to 0-8 with Kieran Hughes firing home that crucial goal in the 21st minute. Cork were reliant on O’Neill and Donncha O’Connor to supply points from frees in the first-half.

Conor McManus and James Loughrey Monaghan's Conor McManus and Cork's James Loughrey Source: Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO

Monaghan lost key defender Dessie Mone just before half-time when he was shown a black card for a foul on O’Connor. Then in the 42nd minute they were hit with another setback when O’Neill despatched a shot to the net for Cork following great approach work by Ian Maguire.

Monaghan recovered and went four points clear with McManus to the fore as they enjoyed a 1-13 to 1-9 advantage by the 50th minute. However Cork fought back once more with O’Neill bagging another goal.

The action ebbed and flowed in the closing quarter with little to choose between the teams before O’Neill stepped forward to seal a priceless win for Cork.

Scorers for Cork: Colm O’Neill 2-6 (0-5f), Donncha O’Connor 0-5 (0-4f), Brian O’Driscoll, Brian Hurley, Eoin Cadogan (0-1f) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Monaghan: Conor McManus 0-9 (0-8f), Kieran Hughes 1-0, Paul Finlay 0-3 (0-1f), Fintan Kelly, Kieran Duffy, Conor Boyle, Dermot Malone 0-1 each.

Kieran Duffy and Brian Hurley Cork's Brian Hurley and Monaghan's Kieran Duffy. Source: Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO


1. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)

2. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)
3. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
4. James Loughrey (Mallow)

5. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
6. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
7. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

10. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs)

24. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
11. Donnacha O’Connor (Ballydesmond)
12. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

13. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)
14. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)

26. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh) for Kerrigan (half-time)
17. Michael Shields (St Finbarr’s) for Colm O’Driscoll (51)
23. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers) for Hurley (65)
21. Donal Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa) for O’Connor (65)


1. Rory Beggan (Scotstown)

2. Conor Boyle (Clontibret)
3. Drew Wylie (Ballybay)
4. Ryan Wylie (Ballybay)

5. Dessie Mone (Clontibret)
6. Fintan Kelly (Clones)
7. Kieran Duffy (Latton)

8. Neil McAdam (Monaghan Harps)
21. Paul Finlay (Ballybay)

22. Conor McManus (Clontibret)
11. Stephen Gollogly (Carrickmacross)
12. Ryan McAnespie (Emyvale)

13. Dermot Malone (Castleblayney)
14. Daniel McKenna (Truagh)
15. Kieran Hughes (Scotstown)

20. Vinny Corey (Clontibret) for Mone (black card) (half-time)
25. Thomas Kerr (Ballybay) for McKenna (half-time)
9. Dick Clerkin (Currin) for McAdam (49)
24. Owen Duffy (Latton) for McAnespie (64)
19. Karl O’Connell (Tyholland) for Kieran Duffy (67)

Referee: Fergal Kelly (Longford)

1-5 for Paul Geaney as Kerry get first league win against 14-man Derry

Red Hand off the mark as misfiring Mayo beaten in Castlebar

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: