This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 12 November, 2019

Couple of switch-ups as McCarthy names Cork side for Tipperary clash

The Munster sides face off in Thurles on Saturday evening.

Cork manager Ronan McCarthy.
Cork manager Ronan McCarthy.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

CORK FOOTBALL MANAGER Ronan McCarthy has made two personnel change to his Rebels side to face Tipperary this weekend. 

Castlehaven’s Mark Collins starts in the half-forward line with Éire Óg star Ronan O’Toole dropping to the bench, while Brian Hurley starts at full-forward and Paul Walsh misses out.

There are positional changes all over to the team that started against Meath last time out.

Mallow’s Mattie Taylor drops from the half-forward line into defence to take Walsh’s place, as Ruairi Deane slots into wing forward, allowing Hurley to take the number 14 jersey this weekend.

The Royals came out on top by six points at Páirc Uí Rinn last Saturday and with Division 3 football looming ever closer for Cork at this rate, they’ll be hoping to get their campaign back on track in Thurles on Saturday evening [throw-in 7pm].

This Round 5 fixture comes for the Leesiders after an opening day draw with Fermanagh, and defeats to Kildare, Clare and Meath.


1. Micheál Aodh Martin (Nemo Rangers)

2. Sam Ryan (St Finbarrs)
3. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
4. Conor Dennehy (St Finbarrs)

5. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)
6. Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty)
7. Mattie Taylor (Mallow)

8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs)
9. Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig)

10. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
11. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)
12. Ruairi Deane (Bantry)

13. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)
14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
15. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)


16. Chris Kelly (Eire Og)
17. Kevin O’ Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
18. Peter Murphy (Bandon)
19. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
20. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
21. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
22. Paul Walsh (Kanturk)
23. Ronan O’ Toole (Eire Og)
24. Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree)
25. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)
26. Sean Powter (Douglas)

- Updated 9.54pm.

Bernard Jackman joins Murray Kinsella and Gavan Casey to discuss the backlash to World Rugby’s league proposal, captaincy styles, sports psychology and more in The42 Rugby Weekly.

Source: The42 Rugby Weekly/SoundCloud

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel