Tipperary stun Cork to book place in Munster senior football final

A final place beckons on July 3 against Kerry.

George Hannigan and Ian Maguire compete for possession.
George Hannigan and Ian Maguire compete for possession.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Tipperary 3-15
Cork 2-16

Fintan O’Toole reports from Semple Stadium

TIPPERARY CLAIMED A first senior football championship win over Cork since 1944 after a pulsating Munster semi-final clash in Thurles today.

Kevin O’Halloran kicked two late points – one from a ’45 and one from a free – to seal a famous triumph for the Premier and propel them into the Munster final on 3 July.

Goals from Conor Sweeney and Michael Quinlivan helped Tipperary go in front 2-7 to 0-6 at the break. Sweeney rifled home a shot in the 16th minute after a surging run from Brian Fox and again it was Fox who prised apart the Cork rearguard to set up Michael Quinlivan for a goal in the 34th minute.

Tipperary could have been further ahead at the interval as Peter Acheson was presented with a chance in the 9th minute from a penalty after Robbie Kiely was fouled but Cork goalkeeper Ryan Price tipped his shot away.

Bill Maher and Alan Campbell with Brian Hurley Cork's Brian Hurley battles for the ball with Tipperary's Bill Maher and Alan Campbell Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Cork struggled in the opening period in front of goal with inaccurate shooting yielding nine wides. Conor Dorman, deployed in the half-forward line, was the best of their attackers in the first-half as he kicked two points.

Tipperary began the second-half brightly to stretch their lead to nine points with O’Halloran (2) and Acheson on target as a Colm O’Neill free was all Cork could muster in response. Trailing by 2-10 to 0-7 in the 45th minute, Cork had a mountain to climb but they stuck manfully to their daunting task.

Peter Kelleher’s introduction at full-forward caused problems as he won frees which Cork pointed and then they received a lifeline in the 54th minute when Mark Collins deftly finished to the net after a probing run from Paul Kerrigan.

Peadar Healy Cork football manager Peadar Healy Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Then Tipperary looked to have sealed success once more. The centrepiece of their scoring spree was a Brian Fox goal in the 61st minute when he availed of a wretched kickout from Price. Tipperary were in front by nine points with eight minutes left – 3-13 to 1-10 – but incredibly Cork managed to draw level.

Collins fired another goal in the 66th minute while substitutes Donncha O’Connor and Daniel Goulding showed the composure to nail points. Paul Kerrigan clipped over the levelling points in the 70th minute and Cork looked on course to condemn Tipperary to heartbreak once more.

But Liam Kearns side kept their heads to fashion that brace of late points from Portroe forward O’Halloran and prompt huge scenes of celebration at the final whistle.

Liam Kearns celebrates Tipperary boss Liam Kearns celebrates victory Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Scorers for Tipperary: Kevin O’Halloran 0-7 (0-3f, 0-2 ’45) Michael Quinlivan 1-3 (0-1f), Brian Fox 1-1, Conor Sweeney 1-0, Peter Acheson 0-2, Ciaran McDonald, Bill Maher 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Mark Collins 2-1, Donncha O’Connor (0-3f), Paul Kerrigan (0-1f) 0-3 each, Conor Dorman, Colm O’Neill (0-2f), Daniel Goulding (0-1f) 0-2 each, Brian Hurley, John O’Rourke, Peter Kelleher 0-1 each.


1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

4. Ciarán Mc Donald (Aherlow)
2. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)
3. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)

5. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
18. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers – Cork)
19. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)

6. Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers, captain)
9. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers)

15. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)
13. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe)
12. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)

10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
14. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)
17. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)


7. Shane Leahy (Arravale Rovers) for Keane (black card) 34)
8. Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers) for Kiely (55)
20. Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials) for Austin (60)
11. Alan Moloney (Rockwell Rovers) for Sweeney (68)
21. Billy Hewitt (Ardfinnan) for Fahey (black card) (72)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member


1. Ryan Price (O’Donovan Rossa)

4. James Loughrey (Mallow)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
10. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

7. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
6. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
5. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)

8. Sean Kiely (Ballincollig)
9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s)

15. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
2. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
12. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)

13. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)
14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
11. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)


21. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael) for Hurley (half-time)
22. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues) for Kiely (half-time)
24. Sean White (Clonakilty) for Deane (black card) (43)
23. Sean Powter (Douglas) for Dorman (48)
18. Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond) for O’Neill (54)
17. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg) for O’Rourke (62)

Referee: Paddy Neilan (Roscommon)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Cork cruise into Munster junior football final with 14-point win over Tipperary

Late Kerry goal sees off Limerick in dramatic Munster semi-final finish

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: