Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 1°C Saturday 10 April 2021


38,940 Views 9 Comments

Evening all and welcome along to Páirc Uí Chaoimh. It’s Cork entertaining Tipperary in this Allianz hurling league clash. Throw-in is 7pm.

Here’s the teams named to start. Late change in the Tipperary team with Joe O’Dwyer in for Cathal Barrett.


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
3. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
4. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)

5. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers)
6. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
7. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)

8. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
9. Luke Meade (Newcestown)

10. Robbie O’Flynn (Erin’s Own)
11. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
12. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers – captain)


1. Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)

23. Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
3. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
4. Seán O’Brien (Newport)

5. Séamus Kennedy (St. Mary’s)
6. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Paddy Cadell (JK Brackens)

8. Alan Flynn (Kiladangan)
9. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)

10. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
11. Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
12. Michael Breen (Ballina)

13. Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
14. Jason Forde (Silvermines)
15. Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg)

James Owens from Wexford the referee for this one.

All set to go here in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Cork 0-2 Tipperary 0-0
Cork fly out of the traps with points from Aidan Walsh and Alan Cadogan.

Cork 0-3 Tipperary 0-2
6 mins – Tipperary drew level courtesy of Mark Kehoe and Alan Flynn, then Cork go back in front thanks to Damien Cahalane.

Cork 0-4 Tipperary 0-3
8 mins – Points swapped with Patrick Horgan knocking over a free for Cork and then John McGrath flighting over a nice score for Tipperary.

Cork 1-5 Tipperary 0-5
12 mins – Paddy Cadell notched a brace of Tipperary points before Cork hit back with the first goal of the game. Clinical finish by O’Flynn after Alan Cadogan popped a hand pass to him. The Erins Own man O’Flynn has just followed up with a point there.

Cork 1-7 Tipperary 0-5
15 mins – Horgan from a free and Cadogan snaps over a shot from play to leave Cork five clear now.

Cork 1-7 Tipperary 0-8
17 mins – Tipperary mount a rally. Forde fires over a free, Mark Kehoe registers from play and then Forde lofts over a stunning score from the sideline.

Cork 1-7 Tipperary 0-10
23 mins – And now we’ve got a draw game. John McGrath arrows over from play and then Ronan Maher has just smashed over a free from deep in his own half. That’s five in a row now for Tipperary.

Cork 1-8 Tipperary 0-11
28 mins – Cadogan looks very sharp in the Cork attack and he has bagged his third point of the game. Forde cancels that out with another Tipperary free.

Cork 1-9 Tipperary 0-12
30 mins – Horgan edges Cork back ahead, a lovely strike from a free. Padraic Maher counters for Tipperary, stepping in from the wing and clipping his shot over.

Cork 1-10 Tipperary 0-13
34 mins – Mark Kehoe brings Tipperary level, Robbie O’Flynn puts Cork back ahead.

1-11 to 0-13 it is now in favour of Cork.

No shortage of first-half changes. Cork have withdrawn Aidan Walsh and Tim O’Mahony, possibly through injury for the former, with Mark Coleman and Darragh Fitzgibbon coming in. Tipperary replace Paddy Cadell and Michael Breen with Jerome Cahill and Niall O’Meara.

Tipperary 0-15 Cork 1-12
37 mins – The points coming thick and fast now. Morris and Maher for Tipperary, Harnedy then restores things for Cork.

Correction to that, it’s 2-13 to 0-15 in Cork’s favour at the break.

So Cork close out the half with a good burst, Darragh Fitzgibbon banging over a great point and then Robbie O’Flynn surged through before being fouled with Horgan despatching the penalty. We’ll be back shortly with the second half action.

Second-half underway here.

Cork 2-13 Tipperary 0-16
36 mins – Cian Darcy knocks over the opening point of the second half for Tipperary.

Cork 2-14 Tipperary 0-18
40 mins – Darcy on target again for Tipperary, then Cadogan sweeps over his fourth score for Cork and Kehoe matches that with a super effort for the Premier.

Cork 2-16 Tipperary 0-19
44 mins – The points continue to flow. Horgan bangs over a free for Cork, Padraic Maher lands a huge one for Tipp and O’Flynn swings over a lovely score from the wing for Cork.

Cork 2-17 Tipperary 0-20
47 mins – Again Tipp cut the deficit to two, Niall O’Meara intervening, and again Cork push back to go three ahead with Horgan scoring a free.

Subs: Tipperary bring in captain and 2019 Hurler of the Year Seamus Callanan, it’s Cian Darcy who makes way. Conor Lehane replaces Declan Dalton on the Cork side.

Cork 2-18 Tipperary 0-21
51 mins – Fitzgibbon is fouled, he’s made a really good impact since coming in for Cork, and Horgan converts the free.

Cork 2-18 Tipperary 0-22
54 mins – Jerome Cahill pops over a nice point for Tipperary. Initially Forde’s free was blocked by Chris O’Leary’s outstretched hurley for Cork but Tipperary recycled the play well to score.

Cork 2-19 Tipperary 0-22
55 mins – Marvellous striking again from Horgan as he comes deep to fire over a free for Cork.

Cork 2-20 Tipperary 0-22
58 mins – Horgan bangs over a free for Cork after Cadogan was fouled. Four in it again.

Couple of chances go awry for Tipperary, they’d sight of goal but the connection wasn’t clean with Patrick Collins clearing and then Willie Connors directed a point attempt off target.

Cork 2-21 Tipperary 0-24
62 mins – The gap is down to two when Forde, from a free, and Jake Morris point but Cork go three in front again as Horgan dances out of trouble to finish neatly between the posts.

Cork 2-22 Tipperary 0-25
64 mins – John McGrath whips over a point for Tipperary with a goal on and then Fitzgibbon converts for Cork.

Cork 2-23 Tipperary 0-25
Mark Coleman weighs in with a Cork point but now Tipp have a chance to rally, Mark Kehoe fouled by Bill Cooper. Great save from Collins before that to deny Niall O’Meara.

Cork 2-23 Tipperary 1-25
What a rocket to the net from Tipperary goalkeeper Brian Hogan.

Earlier Cork brought on Shane Kingston for Luke Meade before that hectic passage of play.

One in it and one minute left in normal time. Horgan tries from distance from a Cork free but can’t direct it over.

Four minutes of injury time.

Big delay here as it looks like John O’Dwyer is down, he took a heavy hit in that collision with the Cork defence.

Play resumes, O’Dwyer stretchered off with what looks a serious injury and Paul Flynn comes in.

Cork 2-24 Tipperary 1-25
80 mins – Seamus Harnedy clips over a point for Cork.

Full-Time: Cork 2-24 Tipperary 1-25

Cork get over the line by two points, a first league win of the campaign. Thanks for joining our coverage this evening.

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel