Dublin: 16°C Monday 27 June 2022

Cork surge past Tipperary to set up Munster final against Kerry

Cork ran out 13-point victors against the Premier in Thurles.

Cork 3-20

Tipperary 1-13

CORK GOT THEIR Electric Ireland Munster minor football campaign back on track with a comfortable success over Tipperary in Semple Stadium this evening.

olan-odonovan-celebrates-after-scoring-a-point Cork's Olan O'Donovan celebrates scoring a point. Source: Tom Maher/INPHO

Cork lost their opening game of the season against Kerry by 14 points last Wednesday night, while Tipperary had emerged from the Phase 1 series. 

But Cork availed of the second chance to emerge victors by 13 points and set up another meeting with Kerry on Wednesday 1 June, this time at the final stage at a Cork venue.

colm-gillespie-makes-a-break-past-alex-mcsherry Colm Gillespie makes a break for Cork past Alex McSherry. Source: Tom Maher/INPHO

Cork laid the foundations early on, racing ahead by 2-9 to 0-1 after 20 minutes. Brian Hayes and Alan O’Connell grabbed the goals for a team that were in front by 2-10 to 0-6 at the break as Tipperary fought back.

A second-half goal from Charlie English gave Tipperary some hope but Cork effectively sealed the game when their third goal arrived courtesy of the excellent Ed Myers.

Cork struck seven points without reply as they made a terrific start to the game, then Hayes thumped a left-shot to the net and O’Connell slotted home their second goal a few minutes later. Tipperary responded with impressive spirit as they knocked over a series of points before half-time but couldn’t find the net from a penalty as Josh Woods saved from Fionn Fitzgerald’s kick.

English gave Tipperary a boost with that goal but Cork regained control with Hayes and Myers, who shot 1-5 apiece, joined in the leading scoring stakes by the 0-6 tally of Olan O’Donovan.

Scorers for Cork: Brian Hayes 1-5 (0-3f, 0-1 ’45), Ed Myers 1-5, Olan O’Donovan 0-6 (0-2f), Colm Gillespie 0-1, Ben O’Sullivan 0-1, Gearoid Kearney 0-1, Sean Coakley 0-1.

Scorers for Tipperary: Conall Grogan 0-7 (0-6f), Charlie English 1-3, A Creed 0-2, Charlie King 0-1.


1. Josh Woods (Valley Rovers)

2. Mark O’Sullivan (Bantry Blues), 3. Colin Molloy (Nemo Rangers), 4. Tim O’Brien (Nemo Rangers)

5. Darragh O’Donovan (Bishopstown), 6. Gearóid Daly (Mallow), 7. Aaron Cullinane (Clonakilty)

8. Colm Geary (Kilshannig), 9. Colm Gillespie (Aghabullogue)

10. Mark Kelleher (Mallow), 11. Ed Myers (Naomh Aban), 12. Alan O’Connell (Kilshannig)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

13. Brian Hayes (Nemo Rangers), 14. Gearoid Kearney (Kinsale), 15. Olan O’Donovan (Ibane Gaels)


1. Robbie McGrath (Galtee Rovers)

2. Alex McSherry (Clonmel Commercials), 3. Ciaran Byrne (Golden-Kilfeacle), 4. Jamie Bergin (JK Brackens)

5. Eoin O’Connell (Loughmore-Castleiney), 6. Charlie King (Ballina), 7. Thomas Charles (Clonmel Commercials)

8. Joe Higgins (Clonmel Commercials), 9. Paddy O’Keeffe (Moyle Rovers)

10. Charlie English (Ballporeen), 11. Tommy O’Connor (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), 12. Ben Carey (Ballylooby-Castlegrace)

13. Conall Grogan (Galtee Rovers), 14. Daithi Hogan (St Patrick’s), 15. Fionn Fitzgerald (Killenauel)

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel