Dublin: 14°C Tuesday 28 June 2022

Kingston returns for Cork, two Tipperary changes and Prunty out for Waterford

Semple Stadium hosts Satuday’s game.

Updated May 20th 2022, 9:30 PM

CORK FORWARD SHANE Kingston returns to the starting side for their Munster championship tie against Tipperary on Sunday.

shane-kingston Cork forward Shane Kingston. Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Kingston is named in attack in the only change from last Sunday’s win over Waterford as Shane Barrett drops to the bench. Defender Ger Millerick returns from injury and is included amongst the substitutes.

Tipperary have brought Dan McCormack and Jason Forde back into their starting side, the only two changes manager Colm Bonnar makes from their loss last time out against Limerick. The players to make way are Paddy Cadell and Paul Flynn.

Throw-in at Semple Stadium on Sunday is 4pm.

jason-forde Tipperary's Jason Forde. Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Waterford have made just the one change for their trip to Ennis to face Clare. Star defender Conor Prunty is unavailable and that paves the way for a starting place for Ballygunner’s Ian Kenny in defence.


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons), 3. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers), 4. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)

5. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), 6. Ciaran Joyce (Castlemartyr), 7. Mark Coleman (Blarney – captain)

8. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville), 9. Luke Meade (Newcestown)

10. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own), 11. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers), 12. Conor Lehane (Midleton)

13. Shane Kingston (Douglas), 14. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s), 15. Alan Connolly (Blackrock)


  • 16. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)
  • 17. Sean O’Leary-Hayes (Midleton)
  • 18. Eoin Downey (Glen Rovers)
  • 19. Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills) 
  • 20. Tommy O’Connell (Midleton)
  • 21. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
  • 22. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)
  • 23. Conor Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
  • 24. Shane Barrett (Blarney)
  • 25. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields)
  • 26. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)


1. Barry Hogan (Kiladangan)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), 6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields – captain), 4. Craig Morgan (Kilruane MacDonaghs), 

5. Dillon Quirke (Clonoulty-Rossmore), 6. Seamus Kennedy (St Mary’s), 7. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)

8. Conor Stakelum (Thurles Sarsfields), 9. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)

10. Ger Browne (Cashel King Cormacs), 11. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), 12. Michael Breen (Ballina)

13. Jason Forde (Silvermines), 14. Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), 15. Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member


  • 16. Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)
  • 17. Conor Bowe (Moyne-Templetuohy)
  • 18. Paddy Cadell (JK Brackens)
  • 19. Alan Flynn (Kiladangan)
  • 20. Paul Flynn (Kiladangan)
  • 21. Enda Heffernan (Clonoulty-Rossmore)
  • 22. Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
  • 23. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
  • 24. Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
  • 25. Gearoid O’Connor (Moyne-Templetuohy)
  • 26. James Quigley (Kiladangan)


1. Shaun O’Brien (De La Salle)

2. Ian Kenny (Ballygunner), 3. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater), 4. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)

5. Jack Fagan (De La Salle), 6. Tadhg De Burca (Clashmore-Kinsalebeg), 7. Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater – captain), 9. Carthach Daly (Lismore)

10. Jack Prendergast (Lismore), 11. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion), 12. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)

13. Dessie Hutchinson (Ballygunner), 14. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart), 15. Michael Kiely (Abbeyside)


  • 16. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)
  • 17. Mark Fitzgerald (Passage)
  • 18. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart)
  • 19. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
  • 20. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan)
  • 21. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
  • 22. Micheal Harney (Bunmahon) 
  • 23. Neil Montgomery (Abbeyside)
  • 24. Peter Hogan (Ballygunner)
  • 25. Colin Dunford (Colligan)
  • 26. DJ Foran (Portlaw)

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel