Ken Sutton/INPHO Blake Murphy celebrates his goal for Cork against Dublin in last year's All-Ireland final.
# U20
All-Ireland underage winners in Cork and Kerry teams with AFL signing on bench for Kingdom
Cork joint captains Mark Cronin and Blake Murphy are amongst those who started in last year’s final victory over Dublin.

LAST UPDATE | Feb 25th 2020, 5:51 PM

CORK HAVE INCLUDED six players who featured in last August’s thrilling All-Ireland final win over Dublin for tomorrow night’s provincial U20 football clash with Clare while Kerry’s team is backboned by 2018 minor champions for their meeting with Limerick.

Keith Ricken’s side travel to Miltown Malbay for the semi-final of the EirGrid Munster championship for their first competitive game this season. Clare have named an unchanged team from that which defeated Waterford in their quarter-final tie last week.

Kerry are also on the road to take on Limerick at LIT Gaelic Grounds for their first competitive game of the season. Manager John Sugrue has eight starting players from that minor triumph two years ago at his disposal now.

Deividas Uosis, who last week signed with AFL outfit Brisbane Lions, is on the Kerry bench. Limerick make one change from last week’s win over Tipperary as Darragh O’Keeffe comes in for Ruadhan O’Connor.

Goalkeeper Josh O’Keeffe, midfielder Daniel O’Connell and the attacking duo of Mark Cronin and Blake Murphy, who are joint captains and both scored goals in the comeback against Dublin, all started for Cork in the 2019 decider in Portlaoise. Jack Murphy and Fionn Herlihy were introduced as substitutes in that game. In addition wing-back David Buckley and wing-forward Brian Hayes were part of last year’s victorious U20 squad, as was Eanna O’Hanlon who is selected amongst the substitutes.

Midfielder Jack Lawton is the only player from last September’s Cork All-Ireland minor winning side named to start here with three others on the bench in goalkeeper Cian O’Leary, defender Darragh Cashman and attacker Conor Corbett.

Centre-back Bill Foley will make his first championship start for Cork. His father Mark won All-Ireland senior hurling medal with Cork in 1990, older brother Tim captained Cistercian College Roscrea to Leinster senior schools rugby cup title in 2015.

Kerry can also call on players with plenty All-Ireland winning experience. Goalkeeper Marc Kelliher, defenders Owen Fitzgerald and Dan McCarthy, midfielder Darragh Lyne and attackers Paul Walsh, Patrick Darcy, Killian Falvey and Paul O’Shea all started in the 2018 Croke Park minor final victory over Galway. Corner-forward Ruaidhri Ó Beaglaoich came on as a substitute in that match.

Throw-in for tomorrow night’s games is 7pm.


1. Josh O’Keeffe (Newmarket)

2. Colm O’Shea (Kilshannig)
3. Daniel O’Mahony (Knocknagree)
4. Diarmaid Phelan (Aghada)

5. David Buckley (Newcestown)
6. Bill Foley (Bantry Blues)
7. Brian Lynch (Douglas)

8. Jack Lawton (Argideen Rangers)
9. Daniel O’Connell (Kanturk)

10. Jack Murphy (Éire Óg)
11. Aodhán Ó Luasa (Naomh Aban)
12. Brian Hayes (St Finbarr’s)

13. Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers – joint captain)
14. Fionn Herlihy (Dohenys)
15. Blake Murphy (St Vincent’s – joint captain)


16. Cian O’Leary (Douglas)
17. Bill Curtin (Kilshannig)
18. Sean Desmond (Clondrohid
19. Eoghan Lehane (Canovee)
20. Darragh Cashman (Millstreet)
21. Eanna O’Hanlon (Kilshannig)
22. Conor Corbett (Clyda Rovers)
23. Conor Russell (Douglas)
24. Gerry O’Sullivan (Boherbue)


1. Marc Kelliher (Glenflesk)

2. Owen Fitzgerald (Gneeveguilla)
3. James McCarthy (Kenmare Shamrocks)
4. Dan McCarthy (Kenmare Shamrocks)

5. Luka Brosnan (Castleisland Desmonds)
6. Dylan Casey (Austin Stacks)
7. Seán O’Brien (Beaufort)

8. Darragh Lyne (Killarney Legion)
9. Michael O’Gara (Austin Stacks)

10. Paul Walsh (Brosna)
11. Patrick Darcy (Glenflesk)
12. Killian Falvey (Annascaul)

13. Ruaidhrí Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
14. Seán Keane (Listowel Emmets)
15. Paul O’Shea (Kilcummin – captain)


16. Deividas Uosis (Dingle)
17. Alan Dineen (Rathmore)
18. Seán O’Connell (Cordal)
19. Colm Moriarty (Annascaul)
20. Tadhg Ó Siochrú (Tuosist)
21. Dylan Geaney (Dingle)
22. Seán Quilter (Austin Stacks)
23. Eddie Horan (Scartaglen)
24. Jack O’Connor (Beaufort)


1. Tom O’Brien (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)

2. Manus Doherty (Éire Óg)
3. Micheál Murray (Miltown)
4. Ciarán McMahon (Ennistymon)

5. Daniel Walsh (Kilmurry-Ibrickane)
6. Cillian Rouine (Ennistymon)
7. Seán Conway (Doonbeg – captain)

8. Oisín Looney (Miltown)
9. Eoin Rouine (Ennistymon)

10. John Murphy (Ennistymon)
11. Emmet McMahon (Kildysart)
12. Thomas Clancy (O’Curry’s)

13. Diarmuid O’Donnell (Kildysart)
14. Shane Meehan (Banner)
15. Mark McInerney (Éire Óg)


1. Ronan McElligott (Mungret St Paul)

2. Cormac Woulfe (St Senan’s)
3. Craig Carew (Claughaun)
4. Darragh O’Keeffe (Fedamore)

5. Barry Coleman (Rathkeale)
6. Adam Shanagher (Rathkeale)
7. Liam Kennedy (St Kieran’s)

8. Rory O’Brien (Fr Casey’s)
9. James Cummins (Galbally)

10. James Molyneaux (Dromcollogher-Broadford)
11. Brian Foley (Newcastlewest)
12. John Hayes (St Kieran’s)

13. James Garvey (Mungret St Paul’s)
14. Eoin O’Mahony (Galbally)
15. Colm Ryan (Feenagh-Kilmeedy)


16. Jeffrey Alred (Adare)
17. Cathal McCarthy (Monaleen)
18. Tim Lyons (Croom)
19. Shane O’Donoghue (Ballylanders)
20. Shane Barry (Mungret St Paul’s)
21. James Pomeroy (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
22. DJ Stack (Fr Casey’s)
23. Conor Galvin (Mungret St Paul’s)
24. Eoghan McNamara (Galtee Gaels)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel